PHOTOGRAPHY 101: INDOOR OBJECTS - THE IMPORTANCE OF PRESENTATION

in #photography7 years ago

When taking photographs indoors, the presentation of the subject is very important. In this post I will present several ways to present an object as to heighten the allure of the object in the photo. The object I have chosen for this exercise is a strand of rawhide lace.

SUNP0014.JPG
In this first photo I have simply laid the strand on a candle display. See how the object draws your attention because I told you that?


In this next photograph I added an extra element to heighten the display of the lace. See how the superhero holds it above his head?

SUNP0001 (2).JPG
In these next series of photographs I have added a decorative plate for several different effects using the plate as a base for the presentation of the rawhide.
See how this first one gives a minimalist view to the photo by simply laying the lace on the darker plate?

SUNP0002.JPG
Next we add some clothes pins to the plate to give it dreamy utility feel. You can almost sense the lace's fantasy of being a clothesline.

SUNP0003.JPG
I then take away the clothes pins and add some vegetables to the plate. Doesn't the rawhide lace look delicious in this photograph?

SUNP0004.JPG
Our superhero friend seems to think so!

SUNP0005.JPG
Lastly I put the lace into a natural element. See how well the lace blends with the photo and still stands alone because a boot doesn't really need two laces. I'm not quite sure if the superhero is lifting the boot for artistic purposes or is just showing off his strength.

SUNP0007.JPG


There you have it. I have showed you several different ways to make the subject of your photograph stand out and catch the eye of your viewer. Use these techniques in your photographs and I guarantee you will take a picture. Thank you and watch for more photography lessons in future posts.


This article is intended to be humorous. Any similarities between these techniques and actual professional photography techniques is purely a coincidental accident.



jap2.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85