Sort:  

Herman (Arminius in Latín) fought in the Roman armies. Eventually, he united the disorganized Germanic tribes against the Romans and used his knowledge of their tactics to lead the tribes to victory.

Shortly thereafter, he was murdered.

haha! I was so impressed until you said he got murdered. Dang. After all that fighting.
Ok, so the town in MN is a big German settlement, at least originally, right? So I can see
why the monument.

What a succinct biography! The last sentence made me laugh out loud, even though it probably shouldn't have.

Well, I think I got all the important basics! What kind of heroic war leader wants a long and tranquil life, anyway? lol

I see there's a New Ulm, TX. I'm guessing there must have been a few German sellers in that area, too.

oh very good, I see that, down by Houston. Had to be another German settlement for sure, did you see if there were any in other states?

Just the two, in the US. They both popped up when I was checking the weather for the New Ulm up here. You would think a "smart phone" would realize that I'm a long way from Texas and just assume I was after Minnesota...

hahaha! that's funny sir fotosdenada! Hey is this the last year of school AND teaching?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87