Over The Lonsdale Bridge. Let The Spring Workout Begin.

in #photography6 years ago

Spring is slowly creeping in Vancouver. Very timidly, however undeniably. So I took out my second girlfriend (bike) for a ride up and over the bridge. And I saw things on the way that I'd love to share with you.

march bike ride (1)a.jpg

One of the symbols of Vancouver. Unfortunately for drivers- only 3 lines. Slow traffic is rather common. But today I could not care less, the bike line was pretty empty!

I had an errand to do in North Vancouver and I did not want to spend my time inside a car on such a beautiful day, so I decided to take the 30km trip (15 each way) on my bike. Yesterday I took out my bike for the first serious ride this year and today I felt it in my legs. Chilly air did not help, but it was nice on the sun. Today it warmed up a bit and sitting in a car was not an option. Still, with 10 degrees Celsius (and I'd say less in shade) and quite a bit of hills to climb, it wasn't an easy ride, given that I don't bike slow, cause I like to get from point A to point B fast, which is definitely a bad habit.

I chose the way through Stanley Park (biggest park in downtown Vancouver, and 10X wilder than Central park in NYC (Stanley park has actual an forest with actual old tall trees in it with un-penetrable jungle-like undergrowth ...)) and over the Lionsgate bridge, which is big longer for me from coming from East Vancouver (vs Second Narrow Bridge), but definitely more picturesque.

march bike ride (1).jpg

This was the view from the top of Lionsgate Bridge. The bridge itself is a suspension bridge with a steep climb.

march bike ride (2).jpg

Although a huge nature lover, I have a weak side for industrial landscapes I have to admit. I see lots of beauty in it, from purely artistic point of view.

march bike ride (3).jpg

Trains....my most favorite industrial object. And the massive white mountain in the background is Mt. Baker, in Unites States of (frikin) America :)

march bike ride (5).jpg

Enjoying the last part of my journey, already back in my hood- Strathcona. Lots of old Chinese circles and societies are hidden in this unknown part of Vancouver. Like this random Buddhist church in the middle of row of residential houses. Love the magic of it.

march bike ride (6).jpg

Vancouver has massive amount of bad ass Graffiti art. And that even on public building. Like this one in Strathcona community center (adheres to Strathcona Elementary School)

march bike ride (7).jpg

Just love it. Colors, theme, everything. I should do a blog on Vancouver Graffiti alone.

march bike ride (8).jpg

This building in the same street attracted my attention cause the open gate was inviting like gate to heaven. The sign on the door definitely made me think.

march bike ride (10).jpg

As any western city, Vancouver has drug use problems. Especially in lower East Side, where all the unfortunate homeless souls gather. Seeing that instead of judging and fortifying the walls some people offer help, really touched my heart. That is Vancouver- full of contradictions, where latest luxury cars fancy the streets, while few blogs away people struggle for survival. As much as I love this city, it does break my heart sometimes. Of course I fully realize that this has nothing to do with geographical location and everything to do with the problems of our ego-based society, which in my opinion will see it's self- destruction during my lifetime.

march bike ride (11).jpg

To end on the positive note, these crocuses were shining their beauty at the entrance of the same house.

Spring is coming, slowly but surely. And New beautiful things are coming with it.

Thank you for reading, upvoting, commenting, resteeming and all other cyber love hugs!

Much Love to all,

Jan
follow @jankasparec

! love flowers.jpg

Sort:  

Next time, will be mountain bike 🚵‍♂️ !

Or slow ride with you, if you get in shape enough to make it happen babe! :-*

You should totally do a graffitti/street art blog! It may have been a bit chilly (which probably means it was way too cold for me) and made your legs sore but looks like it was a beautiful day and much nicer to have taken the slightly slower way out and about. If you'd taken the car you might have gotten your errands done quicker but you would have missed seeing all these other things XD

goatsig

I love feeling sun and fresh air on my face bro, and I'm a bit of a workout freak too, so here you go. But in winter I am hauled in and just do yoga. And yes I seriously think I will do a blog on Vancouver street art cause there's plenty and high quality. Too bad my most favorite one (and huuuuuuge too) is gone (dickheads, can't believe it, will try to google it if I can find a pic at least). Thanks for your comment bro!

What a beautiful day in Van. I need a bike here in Thailand! Happy days to you in Van

Amazing post and great photos I really want to visit there one day because of this post

That's good to hear! Thank you.

These are excellent shots! I celebrate your gift and passion. More grace.
-@yowanetwork

Cool shots, we loved Vancouver when we went, such an amazing city!

Thanks for this article. vancouver is one of my favorite cities, so it was a nice trip back to the past.
When I visited 3 years ago we also did a nice bike trip through Stanley park. Hope I can visit there again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98