Sort:  

Before I had that fancy new Nikon lens, I had the much older one which is only like 250 bucks, and it does just as good a job, only doesn't have Vibration Reduction (which I never use for macro anyway)

You're using a macro ring light for these, though?

I'm all over the map with lighting, but I never use a tripod, and almost always use a flash.
The flash is usually modified with a Roundflash.

Sometimes I take the flash + Roundflash off camera though and hold it overhead. This means using radio triggers, but they're cheap these days. The bigger problem is holding the camera with macro lens in only one hand, but I've gotten used to it.

Crucially - if I'm at around 1:2 or closer, I'll kill the ambient light and only expose with the flash. For further away shots like the fern above, I can get away with letting ambient play its part. I think I'll do a full post about that actually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62863.58
ETH 2464.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62