Old Buildings and Dilapidated Houses: A Quick Country Drive in Barbados

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Went for a country drive this weekend, came back with a lot of photos.

Inspiration for photography is all around here in Barbados. Everywhere you go, there's something interesting or beautiful or, to be honest - dilapidated!

Here are some country scenes with old buildings. These are iphone photos, so bare that in mind. The quality isn't super awesome.

This first one isn't exactly dilapidated, just a bit run down and an old style.

These are called Chattel Houses.

IMG_35294f843.jpg
Click here to see this image in black and white

Chattel house is a Barbadian word for a small moveable wooden house that working class people would occupy. The term goes back to the plantation days when the home owners would buy houses designed to move from one property to another. (Wikipedia)

I have no idea what this is. Probably a barn, stables or store house for the old plantation back when it was operational. Now overgrown with trees and bush.
IMG_34996bfd3.jpg

Country scene

IMG_3528f5e00.jpg

This is just an old abandoned house, a close up of the scene in the photo above.

IMG_3497602d8.jpg

Below is the Cotton Tower signal station.

IMG_3501f4286.jpg

Cotton Tower signal station is located in the eastern parish of St. Joseph. It was built in the 19th century by the British Military and was one of several signal stations across the island. It was named after Lady Catherine Cotton the daughter of the Governor of Barbados - Lord Combermere. (source)

St. John Parish Church

IMG_349375af7.jpg

This is looking upwards at the tower from the parking lot. St. John's Parish Church was built in 1836 after a hurricane destroyed the previous structure.

I spent a bit more time up there, and I may post more photos from that morning over the next couple days.


I like that I'm getting out and about taking photos again.

It feels good. It also feels good to share them with people who enjoy them, it's been a long time since I did that.

Is there a theme or topic that you'd like me to photograph here in Barbados? Might be an interesting little challenge for me. What do you think?


Follow

Sort:  

I would love to see pictures of those legendary marijuana plants that are like trees; if you were to find a field of them... :-)

Cg

hahaha If I happen to stumble across one I'll keep it in mind!

I Like The Black And White
Cool
I Like Pics
With Sky And Water
Thx 4 Sharing And Steemon!!

Nice tour. I really like the perspective on the last one? UPVOTED!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

wow amazing photos

Your iphone photos look better looking than my nikon d7000 pics.

Hahah I doubt that, but I will take the compliment :)

Great photos, you really get a feel for what it's like to take a drive around there. I especially like the church shot, cool angle!

I am a sucker for "old and beautiful". Would love to see more of the above theme! Also like the little bit of history you provide. Keep it up!

Thanks, I like the idea of "virtual photographic tours" through various places here, history and nature and otherwise. I like dong that stuff, and there's a lot around.

Beautiful pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30