Closeups Of A Fruit Bat

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7600.jpg

This little guy got trapped in a pool but managed to pull himself out where I found him on the side. He was pretty shaken up. I took him into the shade and took some portraits before setting him off into a nice quiet dark corner to recuperate.

What do you think?

These are fruit bats, as far as I know, but I still was not about to handle him bare handed because I'm sure he'd still bite pretty nasty. Apparently we don't have rabies on island, but I still just didn't want to get bitten by a wild animal...

IMG_7579.jpg

IMG_7582.jpg

IMG_7591.jpg

I ordered a mounted flash which should be arriving some time soon, so that should help for future projects. A ring-flash would be extra nice. We'll see.


Follow

Sort:  

What an ugly poor nice little creature that certainly looks like a little devil :) I do not how you handled it but for me it would have been really hard. I am scared of rats, mice and and that kind of creatures. Great of you to help the little fella out and thanks for sharing those rare photos :)

Those are beautiful shots, keep on steeming im going to follow for more I got to really step up my game lol

he's so cute... and it's pretty nice of you for helping this little buddy out! ^^

So stinkin cute! Reminds me of the movie fern gully I watched a million times as a kid.

Congratulations @jamtaylor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

awesome details. i did had a chance to shoot a simalar bat before but got scared and i not have my macro lens with me. that time we went for mountain hiking and passed by a cave going down.

Upvoted. I'm going to resteem this now :)

Nice pictures of the bat! Good thing you found the poor little fellow. :)

I love bats and find them so fascinating, but I have never seen one so close up. I just can't get enough of these photos. What makes them even more spectacular was your care and concern for this animal. Bravo!

Great shots, it almost looks like a newborn puppy.

I love bats, especially mosquito eating bats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94