Beetlejuice Bug - Super Macros [ 4 photos ]

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I found this creature dead in a pool skimmer this afternoon, took it home and set up on the table.

OK, so I don't think it's really called a Beetlejuice Bug.. but the white and black stripes remind me of the Beetlejuice character!

Canon SL1 with 100mm Macro at f32, which is the smallest aperture my camera can do., and a Raynox 2.5x magnification filter. The macro light on full blast, and a second lamp above put up right next to the bug. The beetle was around 3/4" long

I really like how these came out.

smIMG_52139a97f.jpg

smIMG_52127adac.jpg

smIMG_5183d406d.jpg

smIMG_51811b493.jpg

What do you think?


Follow

Sort:  

Nice macro shots! It's definitely some type of weevil. Where was it located?

Thanks, it's in Barbados. A weevil, you say?

Is it the lesser of two weevils?

(Master and Commander, anyone?)

Get out. :P

Yup! Definitely a weevil. I'll see if I can look up the exact taxonomy of it.

Awesome macro! :)
I like insects and micro world too.

That is really close up. Does the 2.5x magnification filter make a huge difference?
💋 @halo 💋😇

Yup, it makes a big difference. I'll do a comparison post soon to show the difference.

What kind of camera, settings and lense did you use, great macro images!

Thanks. That info is right up there in the post :P

Geez sorry i was so blown away by the pictures I didnt pay attention to the text

That is a weird looking bug. Nice macro @jamtaylor. First two with the black background are great. Cheers

What !!!! that eye :-)

Thank uuuuu for your perfect technic

These are epic! Love the top 2 with the black background.

So why did you use such a tiny aperture? To get more of the beetle in focus? I know when I use my macro lens, it has such a narrow depth of field when the aperture is at its widest.

Yup exactly, I used the smallest aperture so I could get as much of the bug in focus as I could.

Thanks for including your photo setup with your images. Your macros and descriptions have helped me appreciate how much light a macro shot really needs to bring out all the detail and colors.

Welcome! Glad it helps

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65