Will the crab spider catch the beetle? (Pictures and video.) / Wird die Krabbenspinne den Käfer erbeuten? (Fotos und Video.)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago
English Deutsch

This time I was very lucky to become a witness of a short but really amazing story which happened inward a wild rose. At a first glance one may only see a colorful and fantastic looking 'false oil beetle' (Oedemera nobilis) in the center of the flower together with some smaller Coleoptera eating of the pollen of the rose.

However, if you look somewhat more thoroughly, you may recognize a lurking yellow 'crab spider' (family Thomisidae) in the upper range of the picture. Crab spiders are able to overwhelm prey even bigger than themselves.

Is the beautiful beetle careful enough or will it become the next victim of the hungry spider? My video will give you the answer. :)

Diesmal hatte ich großes Glück, Zeuge einer kurzen, aber faszinierenden Begebenheit zu werden, welche sich im Innern einer Wildrose abspielte. Auf den ersten Blick seht ihr vielleicht nur den farbenprächtigen, fantastisch ausehenden 'Grünen Scheinbockkäfer' (Oedemera nobilis) im Zetrum der Blüte, zusammen mit einigen kleineren Coleoptera, die damit beschäftigt sind, sich an den Pollen der Rose zu laben.

Wenn ihr jedoch etwas genauer hinseht, erkennt ihr wahrscheinlich im oberen Bildbereich eine auf Beute lauernde gelbe 'Krabbenspinne' (Familie Thomisidae). Krabbenspinnen sind dazu in der Lage, Beute zu überwältigen, die deutlich größer als sie selbst ist.

Ist der schöne Käfer vorsichtig genug oder wird er zum nächsten Opfer der hungrigen Spinne? Mein Video beantwortet diese Frage. :)





Video: Käfer&Krabbenspinne from jaki01 on Vimeo.


Sort:  

Puh, da hatte der Scheinbockkäfer ja richtig Glück! Ich hatte schon Angst, dass ich nach solch einem grausigen Filmchen nichtmehr schlafen kann :-)

Danke für das Video.

schön eingefangen mein Freund!!! ..... muss ich mitnehmen..... upvot dauert noch ...hihi

Danke für's Resteemen, oh Meister der Fotografie! ;-)

sehr gerne mein freund!

Na das ging noch mal gut aus,.. für den Käfer

Hey, Spoiler! ;-)

Hey.. ooops, war nicht meine Absicht :D
Aber ich denke jeder wird das Video ansehen, bevor er/sie Kommentare liest ;)

Haha, weiß ich doch. War ja nur ein Scherz.

Sehr schön...nehme ich an meine Wand :)
Wie geht´s den Rest der kleinen Familie ?

Danke gut, die beiden Frauen hören gerade Musik und singen, während ich das Geld verdiene, ähm ich meine ersteeme. ;-)

Interesting how it seems like the spider doesn't feel very interested in such a big prey like that beetle is... May it be or just the early beetle's reaction led the spider to giving up about the hunting?

I think the pure size of the beetle is not actually the problem, because these spiders catch even bigger bees ... but maybe they are more specialized on catching bees and other Hymenoptera as they are their most frequent prey. If the first attack is not successful crab spiders actually don't run and try to catch a prey, instead of doing that they need the surprise attack ...

Steem Like.png

wow.... great post!

I saw one a white crab spider (dunno the name of it) catching a bee on a flower. It was pretty dramatic battle! Crab won.
The beetle got lucky this time and lunch for the spider.

@jaki01 really amazing work i love it keep on posting i think its amazing nice to meet :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55