Library Roof With Icy Eaves

in #photography6 years ago

20180224_160410.jpg

I took this photo with my phone on Saturday at the library where I work. It was a cold, gray day and the weather has resulted in both some nasty ice dams and fairly impressive icicles. Unfortunately, these are dripping water directly onto the path to our book drop, and the result is a slipping hazard. Signs are in place until we can get a more permanent solution.

Sort:  

We just got dumped on with a good 4 inches or so. The day before it was in the mid 50's. Got to love Michigan!

We have had three mini-winters so far this season, interrupted by almost-pleasant weather. Studded snow tires are often used here, and people unfamiliar with our weather patterns decided to remove their studded tires in early February when winter was pretending to be leaving. The tire stores reported being overwhelmed with people returning to have their winter tires mounted again when the snow returned with a vengeance.

Good post

I gave you a vote, now follow me and ... joke hahaha.

In most of your publications they write that hahaha, you have a lot of patience

As for the publication, it is quite impressive how these "icicles" are formed, can you believe that I hardly know that this word exists? I live several thousand kilometers from a place with a climate close to that, so I never heard of that word in my life, I knew of the existence of these ice formations, but I had never asked myself what they were called. You must be believing that I am very stupid 😂

I suppose someone unfamiliar with the word might try "ice stalactites" or something! It's downright tropical here compared to where I grew up, though. In Minnesota, it would reach -40° or lower. Fun fact: It doesn't matter whether you use Celsius or Fahrenheit, because -40° is the same on both scales. And there was always a wind chill factor on top of that. Snow fell in little shards of ice that blew sideways in the wind.

Wow, a really incredible temperature, can living in a climate like that be boring?

"Cabin fever" and Seasonal Affective Disorder are real problems for a lot of people. However, snow and cold weather also mean opportunities for winter fun. My only real objection to winter is that it's a bother to put on extra layers of clothing to do everything outside, and moving snow is an unpleasant chore.

nice post

I Upvoted and Followed You. Do the same For me and we could Help each Other Earn !!!

Please don't ask for upvotes, followers, or anything else when you comment on someone else's post. And try to make a more substantive comment than, "Nice post!" I know you see such behavior a lot, especially as a newcomer, but it's just not proper behavior. Earnings come naturally if you create quality content and engage with others. Focus on being a good blogger first and foremost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50