Deer Up ClosesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

This is a bit of a shift from my previous posts in this series, because the scale of both the subject and what constitutes "close" are both quite different.I also pulled out my ancient Sony Cybershot pocket camera in an effort to add some optical zoom because the cell phone camera was a disappointment here. The old camera's lenses helped some, but it is getting tired.

DSC00731.JPG

These critters are a nuisance. They raid vegetable gardens and flowerbeds. They jump into traffic and cause car wrecks with what I suspect is malicious intent. Bambi is bullshit. White-tailed deer have declared war on civilization. As such, I hold no animosity for avid hunters. [/rant]

20190911_184031.jpg

As you can see, this cell phone camera shot looks less washed out, but not as up-close. This particular doe let me within perhaps 25 feet (8 meters or so) before finally getting skittish. There was another with a fawn in the underbrush. They were less curious, or more paranoid.

DSC00740.JPG

It's an infestation, I tell ya!

I need a proper camera.

Sort:  

These pictures are actually from yesterday, but today this same doe (at least, I am 90% sure it was the same one, but there are many here) was casually watching me take a walk. I could have killed it with my 9mm without even trying, it was so close. Bit I don't need the venison, and I don't want to deal with the cleanup or nosy neighbors who might complain about pesky things like hunting seasons and deer tags.

White-tailed deer have declared war on civilization.

Hmm. In that light, they're much better anarchists than we are. 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Or better statists.

The deer built the roads

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83