About this Lilac Lad 💜

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Today I'm so grateful for some of the family I've made in the past few years.

Perhaps you know the type: friends who develop a connection that (to me anyway) instinctually feels like family.

One example of this in my life are my dear friends S and R, and one day I'm sure I will talk more in depth about the importance these two amazing ( and now married💜) beings have to me - but today I will be talking about their fur child, whom I've gotten to spend the last few months watching every now and again.

His name is Anakin, and he's a Newfoundlander. His temperament and personality are soothing and perfect for this therapy pup in training. I'm overjoyed that I've been able to help raise him.

And yes, I do call him my nephew. I will now not apologize as I share a few of my best photos of him.

image

Side note: he is a rarer colour, as I understand it, for Newfies called "Lilac", which I adore.

image

image
His eyes get me every time 😭💜


I'm glad this occupied my mind as I was travelling to their home. This was a last minute request, as a move they had planned for a month from now was bumped up to the end of this week. It turns out this is the last day for the foreseeable future that I will have him to myself. Not that I won't visit when they move, but the new location is about 2 hours travel for me.

Nevertheless I'm sitting with these themes today. Gratitude, family, and by association, acceptance. Because where a year ago this would have been devastating I am now able to identify the emotions I'm experiencing, and their validity. Especially warming is the knowledge that this is a great next step for them and that visits I have, I will cherish that much more.

Ps: I would be remiss not to let you know he does have an instagram account. You can find him here
http://instagram.com/anakin.the.newfie

Sort:  

wonderful photos!

Thank you kindly!

Looks warm and fuzzy.. my dog has a blog if you want to check it out and follow from Atlantic Canada

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34