#PHOTOGRAPHY - HOMEMADE UNNI APPAM ( A SMALL SWEET SNACK FROM GOD`S OWN COUNTRY )

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

9.jpg

Today my mother prepared Unni appam ( A Small Sweet Rice Cake ) for me. I thought I must take some pictures of Unni appam (i used my Nikon Coolpix B500) to share my sweet Steemit family members. It's a very popular snack in Kerala, Which is known as Gods Own Country, from India.

My mother cooked it in our sweet homes small kitchen. Unni appam made from rice, jaggery, banana, roasted coconut pieces, roasted sesame seeds, ghee and cardamom powder fried in oil.

In Malayalam (Kerala`s language), Unni means small and Appam means rice cake.
1.jpg

I thought to share Unni Appam recipe details also :

A) 2 cups or raw rice
B) 1/2 cup of all purpose flour (Maida)
C) Medium-sized ripe banana
D) 3/4 cup of jaggery
E) 2 tablespoon of chopped and sliced coconut bits
F)1/2 teaspoon of sesame seeds
G) 3/4 teaspoon of cardamom powder
H)1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
I)1 tablespoon of ghee
J)3/4 cup of water
K)Coconut oil for frying

Below I Listed Preparation Steps of Unni Appam.

1)Wash the rice and soak it in water for about 5-6 hours.
2)Drain the water and grind it to a semi coarse batter.
3)Peel the bananas and grind it into a paste.
4)Fry the coconut bits and keep it aside.
5)Heat the water in a pan and add the jaggery. Once the jaggery is fully 6)melted and keep it aside for cooling.
7)Once it is cooled strain it to lose the impurities and add the melted 8)jaggery to the banana paste and mix it to a fine paste.
9)Add the rice batter, banana-jaggery paste, and maida to a fine batter.
10)Add some water and mix well to make this to a semi-thick formation.
11)Add the sesame seeds, baking soda, cardamom and fried coconut bits to the batter and keep it aside for 45 minutes.
12)Heat the oil in an Unni appam making a pan, Once the oil becomes hot reduce the flame to a medium level.
13)Pour in the batter towards each pit in the pan using a tablespoon. Each pit should be filled little more than a 3/4th portion.
14)When the bottom turns to a dark brown color, turn the Unni appam upside down using a spoon.

  1. Once it is ready, take it out and keep it for draining the oil and serve it hot.

2.jpg

3.jpg

I liked Homemade Snack very much, especially my mother`s preparation.

4.jpg
Hope my friends enjoyed my today`s post. Please support me with your upvote or reply or resteem.
Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30