Loneliness vs. Solitude

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I always need to express my feelings in one way or another. More often than not I’m not able to express myself with words and this is a problem for me since I was a child. Even now when I’m writing this post it’s hard for me to explain with words what I feel. I could dance it, draw it, scream it, but it will be much harder to say it or write it. That's one of the reasons why I fell into photography and art. Nevertheless, I’m pushing myself to do things I don’t believe I can do, going outside of my comfort zone.
Last week was emotionally draining for me, I totally freaked and stressed out. I was seized by a feeling of loneliness, and desperately needed my beloved ones close to me, somehow, though, no one was there and I had to cope with the feeling of loneliness all by myself.

Aristotle once said, “Whosoever is delighted in solitude, is either a wild beast or a god.”

That reminds me of the fact that solitude is a very healthy practice that helps you to connect with inner-self and to find the answers to your questions. I enjoy definitely enjoy solitude, but only when I'm in harmony and peace with myself.

The good thing is that this desperate loneliness inspired me to start writing and the practice of it will help me to improve my writing skills and to stop being afraid of expressing my self. The feeling of loneliness also reminded me of an old self-portrait photo session, which was taken a long time ago induced by a moment of loneliness and an inner urge to express how I feel.

These are some of the images I took by myself with my first camera Canon PowerShot SX200 IS.

IMG_2786-01-01.jpeg

IMG_2746.JPG

IMG_2645.JPG

IMG_2796.JPG

I hope you will like them.

Thank you for being around. It makes my life much more meaningful!

Do you feel lonely sometimes? Do you enjoy solitude? Let me know in the comments.

Yours,
Isabellemonisse

Sort:  

Thank you. I'm flattered @steemlover !

welcome !
Sweet girl.😘

Yes and yes... I very much enjoy solitude, but after a while feel isolated and need to connect with people. I don't need much social time to re-charge, though. Your post reminds me of a book called "Intimacy and Solitude" by Stephanie Dowrick, which I found very helpful many years ago, maybe you would, too.

I feel the same way @janamclaughlin. I enjoy solitude, but after a while I need to connect with people. I will definitely check the book, thank you very much!

I am scared of loneliness. And, I'm avoiding it as much as possible. Anyway, I think this is a nice post and nice theme that has much to offer. Next time I feel lonely, I will definitely write about it. :)

Hi @ikadika ! Yes, sometimes it feels scary when you feel alone, but you can use that time for yourself. Very often, loneliness provokes me to be more creative and that's when something beautiful can come out eventually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61068.10
ETH 2655.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58