Sun Star

in #photography7 years ago

The sun only rises through the center of Cathedral Rock twice a year, in the spring or six months later in the fall which is when I took this photo. This experience was extra special because my lovely wife Adona was there to share it with me. Very few photographers have the expertise and persistence to discover the exact timing of this event, as well as the technique of using a pinhole f-32 aperture setting while taking the shot at the exact moment the first edge of the sun appears.#75 sun star 4x5.jpg

Sort:  

Very beautiful picture and it is also a long exposure picture. Am I right?

Thanks, actually it was a fast exposure even though it was a small aperture it was so bright it had to expose quickly.

wow lovley picture must have been timed perfectly!!! : ) looks like an amazing place to fish!

It was perfect timing, AZ Fish and Game used to stock oak creek here with rainbow trout but stopped it many years ago and I don't know why. I used to catch them with grasshoppers and have them for dinner it sure was fun.

Would love to do that maybe even camp the night sounds like fun!

Gorgeous glimpse of one of the most wonderful places I've ever seen with my own eyes. Cathedral Rock is a wonder. To me, hiking up there is doubly rewarding because on one side we have these surreal sky-high rocks and on the other side is a half-bowl shaped arena that is an absolute blast to hike down.

Hello cabelindsay, I have to agree with your assessment and it's a great place to hike. Its nice to hear from someone who has been here. How long ago was that and where were you visiting from?

My visit was about 7 years ago (I'm overdue for another visit!), and I was visiting from Austin, Texas. My brother lived in Prescott at the time, and I admired that area too, but Sedona was off-the-charts awesome.

I lived in Texas for six months while working in oil exploration before coming to beautiful Sedona, people there said Austin was the best place to live in Texas.

Feels that way to me. Austin feels like home. The people and place are welcoming, inviting, vibrant, and funloving. The one challenge I see with Austin living is that it is such a standout city (compared with other areas of Texas) that it can get a big congested and competitive at times. So I find myself having to push and stretch myself to make it affordable for my family. Good ways to grow, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45