Walking the Line - Monochrome Monday

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The moment I saw it, I knew that this spot is fantastic for a black and white shot. Just look at the geometry of the light and shadows, the pavement on the street, and the building behind. It's perfect! As there were no pedestrians to walk on the line between light and shadow, I had to ask my girlfriend to do it.

P1110017 -  cropped.jpg

I took this picture in Bologna, and as I have set my camera to save both JPG and RAW, I only had the chance to preview the B&W shot while I was there. After coming back home from the holiday and loading the RAW file in CaptureOne, I finally got the chance to see the photo in color as well. And to be honest - it's equally good! I am therefore posting the color shot too.

P1110017_1 - cropped.jpg

Which of the two do you prefer?

Thank you for looking!
Dante

Sort:  

Hi ! The two are effectivly beautifull. As the blackandwhite fix the scenery out of the time, the colorfull second makes it live lighty.. Thanks for sharing ! Also remembering listening to Johnny Cash :)

Hey man :) Thanks for your feedback!
And for the song :)

They both are great but I do have a preference for the B&W version, so nice of your girlfriend to walk the line for you :)

She's a very good model - always willing to pose for a photo. And a great photographer! :)) Thank you @tattoodjay!

That’s great you share this interest 👍😉👍

fab U lous!!! I love how you consciously set this up - saw it in advance and made it happen. I don't know which I like better to be honest. I love the sepia tones in the second one only bc those are my favorite tones but the black and white is sharp, edgy, textured.

You are very gifted.

Thank you @countrygirl, it's very nice of you to say that! I am flattered :) I don't always see my "shots" in advance but I am getting better at it with practice :) I think I am starting to like the color one more.

Muchos gracias! It would have been surprising if you said "color" :D

Although I really like black and white, and in this case, the composition might be a bit more clear there, I must say I prefer the color photo. The building has a completely different feeling to it, in the black and white it comes out almost like a prison.. plus I just like those colors 😀

Lol, the building in black and white certainly has a prison look to it 😁 If you like such colors, you are totally going to love Bologna, which is orange all over :)
Thanks for you feedback @reinhard-schmid!

Awesome photo, I prefer the b&w one looks really authentic.

Thanks a lot, @kanashimi! I can't decide for myself :)

Love this :) I hope you had fun!

I prefer the colored one!

I did! I think Italy is becoming one of my favorite destinations :)
Thanks for your comment @szuri!

LOVE them both Daniel. The geometry on the pavement, the light and the position of your girlfriend (walking the geometry like a labyrinth) is fabulous.

@harveyword spoke about desaturating the colour. I wonder what it would be like if you desaturated all the colour ~ Except the green (monster.) 🦋

Thank you, Ally! That might be cool :) I will try to desaturate all but the monster tomorrow

There you go, Ally ;)

Green monster.jpg

Your gilfriend walking on the line of the light make this pictute really geometrical. I like it !
Keep up the good work

Thank you so much, Bill!

Nice!, The Black & White for sure!

Thanks for the feedback! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52