Memories From the Past

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My father was born and raised in a small picturesque village in the Rhodope Mountains, and as I result, I was often staying at my grandmother's house during my childhood. Not that I wanted it - I was always bitter about my parent's decision to leave me there for any period of time. At the end of the day, I had my friends in the city, not in this village! Anyway, it wasn’t all bad – the mountain was beautiful with its huge slanted slopes and vast lush meadows, there were a lot of kids about my age, and I had all the freedom in the world.

These things are still there, but most the people are gone. The younger ones have moved to the bigger cities, while many of the older ones have died.

Last weekend, I went to The Rhodopes to watch the meteor shower, and I stayed in one of the bigger villages in the region – Momchilovci. Luckily, I was able to find some good old things from the past to capture with my camera.

These women were walking on the road as there were no pedestrian sidewalks. The rusty bus itself looked like it hasn't been moved for quite some time.
P1090560-1.jpg

After a closer inspection and some Internet digging, I was able to discover the model - a "Chavdar" 5C midibus from the 1970's
Old bus 1.jpg

I suspect that these houses are abandoned
P1090568.jpg

I was greeted by a black guard dog that actually didn't bother to bark at me. Maybe this facility is still being used for something
Something.jpg

A peculiar delivery system that was going all the way up to the balcony on the second floor.
P1090618.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the photos, and thank you for stopping by!

Dan

Sort:  

Fabulous images Daniel. An air of desolation and desertion ~ So it's almost surreal to see the two women out walking.

Always interesting to go back to our places of origin to see all the things that come up in us. Things that can't be captured ~ Memories triggered by 'the atmosphere.' 🦋

The feeling of desolation is all over the Rhodope mountains, unfortunately. Where did you grow up?

In the suburbs of Melbourne. A pretty desolate area too. Only different: No mountains. Still, my childhood was a happy one. Nature for me was mainly found in the lanes: Weeds, daisies and sour grass. 🦋

Awesome post! I enjoyed it very much. I don't know why but I felt a little sad after you mentioned how younger people leave the place and when you were recounting your childhood...I'm getting sentimental I guess)

Thank you @nameislv, I am happy that you enjoyed it. That was the point - to evoke sentimental feelings in those that are reading it :) The truth is that this is a global trend, as the world is becoming more urbanized. Thanks for your comment!

Such an interesting series of shots
Must have brought back lots of memories and mixed feelings going there

Hey man, I am glad that you liked them. Sure it did - visiting such places awlays brings back memories and emotions... I guess I am a nostalgic type of person :)

Nothing wrong with being nostalgic
I am a bit that way myself

Good post follow me @rmaxhuni

Great post friend 🙏🏻👍

Hey, I am a bot and my goal is to bring a smile
on your face with an awww picture of a Grumpy Hedgehog😍:
cute_hedgehog_@awww_steemit
Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68