Using leading lines in photographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I love photos that have leading lines and I think they are one of the elements that can have a dramatic influence on one’s photography. Leading lines a prerequisite for a strong visual impact - they create a unique sense of depth, thus immersing the viewer into the scene. They usually direct the attention towards a point of climax where the main subject of the photo is. Considering the fact that the attention span of people is getting increasingly shorter, leading lines in the photo can be a great tool to capture and hold the viewer's attention.

I want to show you examples of how I have used leading lines in my images.

Alone in the dark. This is the silhouette of my girlfriend walking on one of the newly constructed overpasses in Sofia. Apart from the leading lines, there were also a lot of nice reflections from the Plexiglas surfaces. Lumix G80 & 12-60mm f/3.5-5.6.

P1050321-1.jpg

The Main in Black. This one is taken in front of the national palace of culture in Sofia. The clouds during that day were perfect for black and white shots. The main leading line is only one - the brighter marble pavement. Fujifilm XT-1 & Samyang 12mm f/2.

The man in black.jpg

Down Below. This is an abstract shot of one of Sofia's subway stations. As you can see, the lights on the ceiling and the yellow security stop blocks create strong leading lines towards the subject of the photo. This shot would not have been possible without the use of a wide angle lens. Fujifilm XT-1 & Samyang 12mm f/2.

Subway station.jpg

Lighting Stanchion. This giant metal construction was designed and built as part of Plovdiv stadium's football lighting system. Both the system and the stadium were never fully completed. The left and right poles lead to a massive upper part, which was supposed to accommodate the lights. Fujifilm XT-1 & Fujinon 35mm f/1.4.

DSCF0014_2.jpg

Fruits and Veggie Market in Stara Zagora I used the market's construction and lamps as leading lines. In this case, however, they do not lead towards a subject but rather create a strong sense of depth.

Fruits and veggie market.jpg

Leading lines are all around us - we just have to pay attention to our surrounding environment and compose our images wisely so that we make the most out of them. I hope this post was interesting and useful to you. Thank you for reading!

Daniel

Sort:  

Something strangely satisfying and calming about parallel lines in prospective. RR tracks in particular. Beautiful photos irreverent-dan.
I'll post one similar for you.

Good pointer. I'll give it some thought next time!

Glad if it could help :-)

Great work, really nice pictures.
Up vote and will follow @cullyguy

Thank you @cullyguy, I am happy that you like them :-)

This is awesome. I love that lighting stanchion shot! I always have trouble finding the right angles but practice makes perfect I suppose. And a little inspiration doesn't hurt either. I love that you're giving such practical advice here, it's exactly what I'm looking for! I'm a newbie photographer and I'm trying to pick apart the collective brain of the steemit photography community. Here's my latest stuff, any notes/criticism/tips? I'm sure you're busy so if you don't get the chance to check it out I totally understand, but I know it doesn't hurt to ask!

Appreciate your work, keep it up Mr. Irreverent! :) Have a rad day!

Hey @chrissymchavez, thank you for commenting! I am happy if this article has somehow inspired you :-) I'll now read your blog post.

Thanks! :) & Yeah I think seeing examples of advice is super helpful!

Congratulations @irreverent-dan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99