A Story of Grapesticides - TDSFV #3

The Dark Side of Fruits and Vegetables is my first conceptual photography project, which aims to provoke the viewer into pondering the topic of food toxicity and the role of the big agrochemical industry in modern agriculture.

Part 3 - Grapes

Grapes - resized.jpg
©Daniel Slavov

Grapes are listed in EWG's dirty dozen for 2017, which means that they are some of the most heavily treated fruits. In the long list of pesticides, there are chemicals that are harmful to bees and birds (Imidacloprid), toxins that can damage the reproductive system (Myclobutanil), and possible carcinogens (Boscalid, Tebuconazole).

If you are interested in reading more about each pesticide, you can use HHS’s website, which has a lot of interesting information.

Grapes are among the fruits that I consume year-round in the form of wine, and thus I often wonder what happens to the pesticides during the process of fermentation. Does fermentation decrease the nasty stuff, or does it perhaps increase it by creating by-products of the pesticides? What do you think?

Thank you for reading and remember to wash your fruits and veggies thoroughly.
Dan

If you are interested in reading the previous parts:
Part #1 - Strawberries
Part #2 - Apples

Reference list:
http://www.whatsonmyfood.org/food.jsp?food=GR
https://sis.nlm.nih.gov/
https://www.ewg.org/foodnews/dirty_dozen_list.php#.WgwxXmmGOM8

Sort:  

Very intriguing project. What inspired you - beside the obvious environmental and staying alive stuff? I love the gorgeous, provocative dirtiness of the photos.

Thanks a ton! :) That's a good question. These dirty fruits and veggies are the result of mainly two things – my love for conceptual photography and my idealistic nature. There's nothing more challenging and rewarding than turning an idea into a photo, and this project (as insignificant as it may seem at the moment) is my attempt at provoking critical thinking.

Right on! I understand the satisfaction part. Can't wait to see how your project evolves.

Hmm this post raises a lot of questions, there are answers for sure

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 14 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68305.20
ETH 2710.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72