Maligne Canyon Ice Climbing - "My Biggest Fear - Photo Contest"

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

What is your biggest fear ? Falling down an icy water fall would have to be up there on the list. Fear is not something to be afraid of but overcome and used a tool; it teaches us where our limits are. This shot is of some ice climbers on a frozen waterfall at Maligne Canyon. It is one of the deepest river canyons found in the Canadian Rockies at 55m (180 ft). The canyon is part of a predominantly underground river system that runs between Medicine Lake and the Athabasca River. The Canyon is in Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada.

This shot was taken on an Canon EOS 6D with ISO 400 and 1/40 sec exposure time at f/4.5 , 26mm using a Canon EF 16-35 F4L IS.

Yes it was very very very cold !

Rob Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

Check out the weekly contest by @claudiaz !

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

oh~~ very nice and surprise picture!
thanks for showing me this wonderful sight!

Thanks. Appreciate your support!

wow i did not catch this one, you travel to some pretty amazing places

Thanks mate ;-) . Appreciate you having a look around my page .

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Hi. What is eatsrewards?

Thats awesome @intrepidphotos .
A great adventure.

Thanks

oh my goodness I just love this! We did a glacier hike in Iceland a couple years and it was absolutely one of my favorite memories/adventures! We've never explored that area of Canada...yet.

Thanks. I have yet to get to Iceland!

Very nice picture! It somewhere beween action and landscape, very well done. Must have been quit a challenge getting there yourself!

Its a speculator landscape out there in winter. Thanks ;-)

Followed :) You take some beautiful photos!

Thanks. Very kind of you.

I am mostly surprised to see people climbing ice :) Why put yourself through that cold just for some exercise? Is that light blue stream still flowing water? Or is that also frozen... that looks so gorgeous!

The blue is frozen ice; the white is a dusting of snow on the ice. Its super fun to climb ice; you just have to dress for the cold !

Canadians are not scared of the cold, that is clear ;) That blue is so hypnotising.

Such wonderful depths in this image. For me it also fluctuates with being abstract, geometrical and flowing shapes of beautiful colours and light.

Thanks. Beautiful description.

Pleasure. 🦋

Lovely photograph Rob, the blue tones look amazing, and natural, as the white snow around has no colour cast at all.

A couple of people have now told me that I should check some of your photography out. Cheers for now, Martin ;)

Thanks. Really appreciate your comment and that fact that you stopped to have a look. Nice that there is some word of mouth. I am new to steemit; so just learning the ropes so to speak.

Yeah same here mate, I'm a fellow photographer too, been here 3-4 weeks now. Fascinating isn't it? We should hook up over these digital synapses, hopefully catch you in the discord channels? I'll be coming for a deeper look, I noticed you have a link to your website ;) , but for now I quite desperately need some sleep...... fingers crossed. :)

Upvoted and followed

you can get me on discord @intrepidphotos

Will do Rob. I have a link to my stuff at the bottom of my two posts for the same contest, take a quick look sometime if you have the time. Different type of work to yours in many ways, but you may well like it. Speak soon

I'm the same on discord but without the uk on the end. Same profile pic etc.

Amazing click. Its Look like dangerous but not for the professional one. this is right that if higher the afraid is found in your personality, more the loser you are!!!!
be brave and Enjoy your Life's every moment.

Ha. I think I understand what you mean. Thanks for the comment !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84