At the foot of the Pyrénées March 4, 2018

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hiking anyone?

I swear i got pricked in one of my fingers, saw blood in between my knuckles, and my jacket and jeans got thorny little branches attached to them at some point, down to my ankles. I don't know why, but i love taking hikes where there is no trail. I mean i follow them at the start, but believe me that more often than not, I am making my own trail. 

After Le Gave bridge, stay at the right side of the river till reaching a green gate. Go beyond it and this is what you'll see.

Ask my cousin Ninette, most times she's my partner in crime, she gets scared now, but till she got an accident few years back, she was happy to just follow me. Her mom probably called me her bad influence from grade school. 

To her i dedicate this post as she missed these views from the first and the last time she was with me in Lourdes in 2016. I took the wrong road leading to the beginning of this trail when she was with me.

Allonsy!

Looking for an easier access going up.

Lourdes is surrounded with low-lying mountains that trails abound to go up, although it takes a little ascent, some are steep. It's still winter and the path is damp that it can get slippery. It's not worth having an accident when only looking for a spot for lunch. I know which one to take from here.

This trail also lead to another village a couple of miles around at the foot of this mountain. I have met some people here years ago where they were going to visit the sanctuary of Lourdes. After my accident and not daring to go up then, i visited this village using this trail.

After the ascent, the trail flattens out and undulating up and down a bit higher from the foot of the mountain. A bit further, and you're back at the base, and from here, choices are there on which trail to take. The one i took was a bit steeper, though i wasn't going high up. 

A rock with a view

Almost all of the trees are leaf-less so they were not restricting the view. It's just a matter of having a better view in between. 

Pic du Jer have a funicular that takes people up. Although I have not taken it, i've climbed it half-way so i have seen my share.

Of course, higher views are much better. Apparently, there's a restaurant beside the funicular stop where it offers lunch in combination with the funicular ride. Not bad for great views!


Which photo do you like the most? 

!steemitworldmap 43.089451 lat -0.045662 long d3scr


All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7. Footer made by @bearone, gif by @ninjace and @deveerei.

Sort:  

This is a great post @immarojas 😊I liked how you said that you try to follow trails when you start but eventually you make your own. I find it meaningful, same with life, even if you try to start by following the footsteps of others, eventually your uniqueness will stand out and you'll eventually do your own stuffs and tread to your own directions. That makes you uniquely you, different from the rest 😊 Haha don't mind me, maybe i just took your words to the next level 😂 thanks for sharing the photo btw, it was very nice.

Actually, i don't like conforming if something doesn't agree with me. I have to be of the same mindset and vision otherwise i will make my own. Same in life true. And very appropriate at this time. Thank you.

Hello friend @immarojas, always when going to the country it is tasty to deviate from the main road to discover the hidden beauties of the normal view of the pass of the person, that good that you are enjoying your vacations, all the photographies are beautiful, but I call my attention the one that you placed the flag of steemit, it was great. Keep enjoying and sharing your adventures.

Thank you so much @syllem..may it be in the countryside or in the city, those unbeaten tracks and hidden side streets can show amazing gems unknown to most of the world.
There is beauty to be found when we dare not follow the norm.

Nice photos, I have to say I like the second one best.

I did wonder if i should have used it as my 1st photo😊

I like how you own it that your aunt likely thinks of you as a bad influence, haha. It's lovely to get to see what that area is like.

Yeah am sure she was told that lols. The area is awesome..there is a higher part where the view is amazing, i will try that i think.

Let's find trails to not follow here!
wink wink ^_^

Boring un luma trails lolsss
My cousin won't like it🤣🤣 Nagagalet ahahaha

I love doing this sort of nature trek too. There are a lot of these walks in the UK too - maybe not many with hills except you go to Lake District, Peak District or Wales.

Really beautiful photos too @immarojas

Haven't been to Lake District..which i know i must. Been to Malvern and Scotland though.
Where else can you recommend in UK?

It's sooooo nice especially if the weather is right. You can really get lost in nature and it's so safe.

I can also recommend Pen Y Fan, Brecon Beacons in Wales. It's beautiful.
I should write a post about one of those actually.

Why dont you? I will have to post my Snowdonia ones one day😁

Haha I'll add it to my planning booklet :) I think the next one I'm doing is for a beautiful town in Spain called Ronda. Maybe writing about beautiful weather will make me feel better about the cold haha.

The snow must have thawed by now. Get well Ade!

I can recommend a Jane Eyre's Peak District hiking route! It is beautiful and you get to pop into the local town as well! Loved that one to bits!!!
P1060787.JPG

Oh Peak District...the drive goin up was awesome!! We had an accident while rock climbing there, he was airlifted to Sheffield, he had 32 broken bones.i had swollen ankle from when he landed on me.
Don't worry hes back to climbing. He bought new gears after selling his..the gf must be really mad at him lols

Wow, brave man! And good that everything OK after the incident!

Yeah..we were very happy for him. He landed on his feet from 30 ft high.

You wrote a good post with beautiful pictures

Hi, if you want your post to show up on steemit worldmap please edit your code. It's currently incorrect. You need to add
d3scr
at the end of it. You will then get an auto response from me that it's been added to the map.

Done..does it need a space after longitude? Ta!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=immarojas
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=at-the-foot-of-the-pyrenees-march-4-2018


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

love that place.. really perfect for hiking...!!!

Oh definitely!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71