Show me your ultimate BUMMER shot and win some SBI

in #photography6 years ago

The perfect shot and you missed it. It happens to everyone and yesterday it happened to me.

Tripod

One of my relatives heard about my search for a tripod and said "Before you buy anything, try mine, just so you know what you like and dislike". Good point.

A good tripod is crucial in many situations, especially in macrophotography. While browsing the net, reading reviews, watching videos I learned a lot about tripods. Expensive ones didn't always work better, some functionality is top priority for one photographer but doesn't mean a thing to another.

Before spending a lot of money on a new tripod, or a little less on a second hand one, it sounded like a good idea to try one first.

Differences

The differences between the tripod I have, and this new one, are plenty:

  • weight
    The present one is bulky, heavy, the new one is light. There is downside to this, of course, the old one has no plastic parts, the new one has many.
  • size
    The new one is no larger than a regular umbrella, the old one is twice as high. The downside of that is, the max height of the new one is lower than max height of the old one.
  • adjustment features
    The present one has good adjustment features, but the new one has more, including a spirit level. One thing the new one lacks is being able to reverse the middle column.

The present one will still be used, but just isn't the one you want to bring with you on a trip.

Using the Tripod

After coffee and small talk I walked into the garden to see if there was anything suitable for the first shot with the new tripod.

Not too fond of wasps, so I passed them by quickly, then I spotted something that could either be birdpoop or a snail. It turned out to be a very, very small snail. Only 5mm in total.

This was my ultimate object. The snail wasn't too happy with my presence but lacked the possibility to flee quickly. To make the most of the shot I fiddled with extension rings, adjusted the tripod, I had fun! But then they called out for me, it was time to leave for a walk in the nearby forest.

This walk was also fun, but I would have loved to spend more time taking pictures of the snail. When I looked at the pictures I had, later on, I realized I indeed should have spent more time. The focus wasn't perfect. It is a shame, because I captured a great moment. The 5mm small snail pooped, in a weird way :)

What happened

  1. The snail (with a hardly visible hole at the end of his head)
    hziy2mdplg.png

  2. The snail puts his antennes flat against his head and the hole fills with black stuff
    1jonm71925.png

  3. Antennes back in place, black stuff coming out
    2ytjuls4ca.png

  4. And we are done
    hbtcagwmrw.png

  5. Time to get going
    owg3ipit43.png

The Result

Blurry images. Can you imagine what this would have looked like in focus?

Contest

You must have had situations like this. Show me your Bummer shots.

The biggest BUMMER will receive 1 SBI.

Sort:  

Here we go

Can you imagine how cool this photo would have been shot with a tripod?
It's a permanent beach restaurant with the full moon exactly above it.

DSC01395.JPG
click it you dare

Nice shot, almost :)
Great entry for Bummer shot contest.

From the very heart I wrote a lot of great quality post. Thanks for posting.

The ultimate question is: "To blurry poop or not." :D These are #almostperfect photos. :)

LOL. Still, next time they will have to walk the forest without me :)

I got hundreds of these shots!
Normally I delete them but I'm sure there are some left.
Let me check and come back on it later :)

My experiment with photography:
IMG0122A.jpg

Nice effect!
What did you do, or tried to do?

I don't remember actually. Quite a mess Huh!

Is this counted?? I was taking the shot when somebody from behind startled me!

20180908_180750-01.jpeg

Yep, this is a perfect BUMMER shot. It counts :)

Yeyyyy! Thanks..

Posted using Partiko Android

I really wish it was focused in the butterfly
3wsjq47gjk.png

I can see how that would have made this a wonderful picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29