My Biggest Fear

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

WHAT'S YOUR BIGGEST FEAR?

A question we might not ask ourselves often enough.

Standing off Bloukrans bridge that is 216 meters high in South Africa, about to jump into empty space, hanging with a bungee cord and tied with some more. We were four, and as they counted down friend after another, but let me mention that the second friend couldn't breathe standing on the edge and ended up not doing it. Not the best motivation.

Nevertheless, my turn was up, here I was at the edge being screamed at "Don't look down!", and of course, me doing exactly the opposite and looking down. As they count down and go "3...", I jumped. Yes, I didn't wait for the countdown. I was too excited to be scared.

There, I fall down, starring at a little river between two mountains. At that moment, I realized that fear will only push me forward. Conquering that feeling was something filled with adrenaline and neurons transmitting signals to my brain, that made me feel truly alive.

I realized that fear will only push me forward.

Below is a picture of me at that moment.

SA.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, you might wanna know that I'll be posting much more of that road trip and other crazy moments in the future.

Ps. This is also a submission for a photography contest organized by @claudiaz.

Website | Twitter | Instagram
© 2018 Ihab Mokayed

Sort:  

Crazy high bridge jump @ihabmokayed another way of getting over fear of heights.

Did it cure you, or are you planning the next one?

It did cure me, but maybe a little too much, because I went out to do the below after that!

IMG_6842.jpg

Ha ha, good for you. Get it done while you young.

how scary, thanks for the post.

Nicely shot considering the circumstances! And my Gosh it was high! :)

Right! Thank you, taking a picture isn't the first thing that comes to mind when you're in such a position!

Okay, I like to read, listen to music and watch youtube.

Show me some of tour work.

Do you have a camera?

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

Hey @jeanpi1908, of course, please feel free to share this post. Also, thanks for the tips!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ihabmokayed to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87