IGLIVISION PHOTOGRAPHY HISTORYsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Sound Tribe Sector 9 Red Rocks Amphitheater 9/7/13 This was by far one of the best shows I have seen put on by STS9 !

As a professional photographer you must be prepared to weave in and out of the crowd and blend in. Watch out for peoples drinks, hands on the ground and the drunk girl who made the staff clean up her vomit. If you do not pay attention to the music it is much more difficult to embrace the appreciation that everyone shares together. I embarked on a two day journey to attend this show in Morisson,CO for one night and document the second night with the proper photo credentials. I have been to a countless amount of concerts here in Colorado. But it was this concert that really caught my eye. There is some reason on this earth that had to get me into the venue and take pictures. Camera charged and memory cleared I walk out the door. "Tickets check!"

Our minds soar fly high as we set off, eyes turned towards the fire in the sky, traveling through these rocky mountains with one thing on our mind. Many others besides us are all migrating to one spot to hear STS9 in their 10th year of playing at Red Rocks Amphitheater. The last time I had seen this group at the Snowball music festival not even six months prior. Before that I saw a small set played years ago at a free show and Red Rocks back in '06. So after following the band years ago and hearing what they produce today is quite unimaginable. Sometimes you have to give the music a chance to open up to you. Just like a delicate flower is not going to open up for example, so you may not like it at first. But when you finally look inside you can see what it truly is meant to symbolize and represent. Then you can see the beauty of things ! When someone next to you asks you if you like the music and then you begin to listen carefully, only then can the true essence of the sound being made become fully appreciated together as one. The night before was amazing as well and there was plenty of dancing room. On the second night we entered into the venue just after the opening act.

Euphonic Conceptions filled the air nearing the venue.. Following a train of people the music faint and growing louder with every step. Don't get off beat or you will fall behind in line. It's most likely going to be busy on a Saturday night and on this night it was ! The sound of heavy bass music fills the area between the rocks. The night sky is crisp as security keeps traffic flowing up and down the stadium stairs just as you stop to look for someone. Heading straight into the center of the crowd seemed like the most logical idea. Row 29 seat 69 I found an open bench for my friends to hold onto for the night.

As STS9 began to play 10 minutes early the crowd swelled with more and more people looking for a spot. I headed down to the front pit area for the first 15 minutes of the show. On my way down the awe of the crowd stopped me as I snapped a few quick shots. They started the first set MOD, Arigato into Rent, which blew me away standing at the front under the speakers. Somehow getting my camera to function correctly with all the vibration and lights. After that I met some friends sitting on the side under the second tree up. I listened to the next song Vibyl and the passion that tribe shared playing music together continues to escalate to a new level. I took a couple more pictures from here as well. There was not a bad seat in the house that is for sure. As the song changed to Blu Mood I headed back up entering my row to find my concert crew. From there I was dead center with the band and the stage. The lighting production was on point and photos became a must. We raged on through the next songs Abcess, Kaya into Monkey Music, Hidden Hand, Hidden Fist. I was not leaving this spot unless I had to get more water and hit the men's room.

After that masquerade began the set break at which point an artist by the name Gold Panda came on.. The music was not enough for true STS9 fans and a majority of the crowd sat down or went to the lavatory. I personally almost fell asleep to the music during the intermission. My mind was still set on one thing and one sound only this night. Set number two began after a half hour break with a song called Hubble into Dance into Inspire Strike Back. All of these rather long and mellow songs compared to the first half of the show. Vapors followed which I personally love along with all these songs even though the intensity was lacking. Then they played Four Year Puma which got the funk going again. I gave up on taking pictures by this point and snapped a couple more on a trip for more fluids. They started jamming Warrior as I left the crowd and marched up the stairs towards the walls Red Rocks and the star lit night sky. When I headed down to where I came from March came on and picked up the tempo one more time going into What Is Love? A great combo for the end of the night if you ask me.

The band then encored with Water Song into Dance again which confused me for a minute. Still satisfied to be listening to live music at this point I was ready to head home for the night. The show had to finally come to an end as they gave us one last song in a double encore. Music, Us was the last song of the night with these meaningful words, "Remedy your melody, sharing space with harmony, rhythm & eternity, love is all we'll ever need." And I thank Sound Tribe Sector 9 for the amazing two nights of music. I hope my pictures help share the love for their music as well.

DSC0228jpg-2589215_p9.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65557.61
ETH 3581.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47