"Life through the lens" or how I became a photographer! :)

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemit!



Probably, it was necessary to tell about it from the very beginning, but for some reason now it seems to me that the most suitable moment has come.

For about 10 years now I have been engaged in photography. It all started from the moment when my mother bought herself a digital Canon PowerShot, and I got her old film camera. I always had a strong desire, something to photograph, but my parents did not allow me to use the camera. And, when I finally got such a coveted camera, the first thing I went to shoot ... is the cottages) This, by the way, is my second passion - architecture. I never wanted to have such a profession, I just really like to look at the details of beautiful and unusual houses.

Unfortunately, these were the times when the photographic film for the photo camera was already difficult to buy, and soon it disappeared from the shops. Therefore, some period for photography was lost at that moment. So for a while I did not have the opportunity to study photography. And then I did not want tried to do it professionally, I was more attracted by music and especially singing. But I did not manage to do this. And why, maybe I'll tell you next time.

In general, after a while my mother gave me her Canon, and then started) At first, I shot everything that comes to my eyes: concerts, buildings, nature on trips, flowers and all that. At times it worked out well, but for the most part it was photo-trash.

Was, as, probably, and at many girls-photographers, the period of self-portraits and own photosessions. I tried everything, style, make-up, places. But I'm a little ashamed to show them to you)) This is the only photo that I still like. Incidentally, it was with this photo shooting that the name IAN BOIL took place. This name simply appeared in the head during processing)

The first serious photo shoot can be considered this photo shoot, with Alina. The idea was to interpret the image of Little Red Riding Hood in combination with appearance the Alina. We prepared for this photo shoot not as carefully as we are preparing now, but still approached with enthusiasm and even made a raincoat. At that time, this photos I really liked ... even now I do not think that they are very bad, because all the same this is the first experience :)

I even found video backstage :) Alina in her style)))

(Enable on subtitles)

Here's how it would look like, with the current processing)

Several years later, an active activity began, with a new camera - Nikon. I watched training videos, rented friends for portfolio, trained, developed a group in social networks and created a small commercial activity. It's funny that sometimes I was paid even more than now :D In this there are two points: with the current level, it's embarrassing to recall that I did take money for "so-so" pictures, and on the other ... offensively, that they were ready to pay for such pictures before, and now are difficulties with this) Although there may be a crisis or too many photographers))

But you know, funny thing - my becoming has never been smooth. Always in unexpectedly went ahead at some point. I can even name those very key moments in raising my "level". Sometimes these were factors not quite organized by me, and sometimes conscious work.

1 ● A new camera. Not quite planned, tk. One day my parents, seeing my desire in the photography, decided to buy me a mirror nicon instead of a digital Canon.

2 ● The project, called "Collaborations", was held in the photo studio. In this project designers and make-up artists acted, and then they organized a photo session in sugar and cotton candy. Actually for this I came there, because "fashionable parties" are not particularly attractive to me (which is a bit contrary to my dream, to become a fashion photographer: D).

Despite all the shortcomings ... I still believe that my photos were made ultimately better than the photos of other photographers)) The only thing that I would now change in them, it left more naturalness of the skin.

3 ● The first participation in the international online photo contest held in the social networks - "DAS MODEL". At that time I participated together with the model Anya, and we even got into the main line-up. But after the first assignment in the line-up, we did not agree with her and her friend the hairdresser in the views on the tasks. After that I refused to work with them and left the project.

4 ● And finally - the recent and parallel participation with Nastya in the competitions "TOP MODEL" and "DAS MODEL". Here I had to master the technique of retouching "Dodge&Burn", which can take up to 10 hours (and sometimes more) for 1 picture. I managed to simplify the technique and now I apply it all the time. But the problem in the contests was that the judges wanted to see Nastya as natural as possible (having abundant skin texture), which is quite problematic with her type of smooth skin and weak transfer of the details of my camera."Experts" believed that even with really minimal processing, the photo still looks too much processed in Photoshop.

Now, photography has become a real disease for me. I never thought what could be so obsessed with this business, especially if you did not aspire to it as fiercely as other people are striving to achieve their most cherished goals.

I sleep and I see a new camera (literally and figuratively). After all, now, my old and completely unprofessional Nikon D3200 drives me into the framework and does not allow me to expand and master new opportunities, does not give me the strength to participate in photo contests and much more. And the dream, about the camera, approaching execution ... every time again moves away from me. Therefore, apparently not yet destiny ... But I do not despair, because I know that sooner or later dreams come true :)

My eyes seemed to have turned into two camera lenses. And if I do not take pictures on the camera, then I always have a phone ready and I capture quite a lot of interesting and beautiful moments. They have their own telephone magic.

Also, I see people in public transport or on the street and study them carefully (and therefore always wear sunglasses so that it will not be noticeable). Automatically imagery appear in my head that might suit them, places where they could be photographed. Sometimes it is very difficult to "disconnect" these functions and imagine yourself a normal person.

Alas, I often find new extraordinary faces, but I can never offer these people to become my models for my photos. It is very difficult to overcome your shyness and "social phobia" in these cases. Although, more precisely - it is impossible to overcome. About what often I regret.

With people, everything is perceived a little easier ... but with beautiful places everything is much more complicated. Earlier, Andrei and I always went out of town, searched for places, spent picnics there, took pictures for ourselves and enjoyed nature. But now, although I just want to go for a walk in nature, at the same time I do not want to go to a new place, if there will not be a photo shoot there. I'm afraid to miss the moment that I will see only then and I can not capture this moment with the person in the photo.

So it was several times and maybe it all started from this. Of course, every moment is beautiful and surprising in its own way, but the first impression is unforgettable. You will always remember it and try to recreate what was really unique.

Thank you for attention! :)

Sort:  

good story - all the success 2U

Thank you very much!))

Great story, I love the great colors you capture in your work. You're really seeing as a photographer does now, and I have also had those dreams of cameras and taking pictures. Keep up the good work on steemit and you'll get to that new nikon. Followed you.

Thank you very much for your support and kind words, it means a lot to me! Welcome)))

WoW that Alina photoshoot looks really nice. Great work !

Thank you! :D

Upvoted... Some great work. I don't know if you shoot any Nudes or Implied nudes but if you do please submit an entry into my new NSFW Contest I'm running for Whaleshares. The Prizes = Whaleshares = Bigger $$$ Payouts.

Check it out...
https://steemit.com/photography/@nspart/annoucing-whaleshares-nsfw-nude-erotic-art-contests-win-whaleshare-you-can-use-to-get-whale-votes-on-your-posts-this-week-s

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42