Photographing ringside for professional wrestling

in #photography7 years ago

bloxham_iwc2017-.jpg
Jaxon Argos w/RC Dupree vs Jonathan Gresham

In the past week, I had the most fantastic opportunity to go ringside at a professional wrestling event and photograph the matches. I've grown up a wrestling fan, and even reference it when giving artist talks about the photographic mindset I use when typically making images. At its core, wrestling is a theatrical show about fighting. More than that, the ring is the stage where the performers are finally given an audience for their craft.

A buddy of mine is a wrestler at IWC, an organization in Pittsburgh. He got me permission to go ringside so off I went. I got to hang out two hours before the show started, even helped set up the ring beforehand. Everyone I met was the nicest human imaginable. I was the new face backstage, so people were constantly coming up to say hi and introduce him/herself to me. More than anything else, it felt like a family of people working together for the common goal of putting on the best show possible!

Once it started, I had free reign to photograph wherever was appropriate. Sometimes I was stationary to catch the action in the ring. Other times, I was dodging flying chairs and avoiding having a 200 pound wrestler thrown into me while I crouched beside a guardrail.

People like to talk about how wrestling is fake. This isn't even the right way to approach the conversation. It's a dance. Inside the ring are people performing characters and playing roles, working together through various levels of choreography, to make the believable unbelievably entertaining. And even when everything is done to perfection, I still saw guys limping backstage after a stellar performance. The pain they go through for their craft is real.

bloxham_iwc2017-3443.jpg
Team Storm

bloxham_iwc2017-3740.jpg
The Fraternity vs Locked and Loaded

bloxham_iwc2017-3818.jpg
The Fraternity vs Locked and Loaded

bloxham_iwc2017-4403.jpg
Jack Pollock vs Darin Dinero

bloxham_iwc2017-4529.jpg
Britt Baker vs Rachel Bostic vs Katie Arquette vs Deonna Purrazzo

bloxham_iwc2017-7228.jpg
Wardlow vs Andrew Palace

bloxham_iwc2017-7331.jpg
Wardlow vs Andrew Palace

bloxham_iwc2017-7431.jpg
Wardlow vs Andrew Palace

bloxham_iwc2017-7685.jpg
Wardlow vs Andrew Palace

Sort:  

Congratulations @iamandy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45