Let's Talk Headshots

in #photography6 years ago

1902_JJK_PH001_RA_00456.jpg

I'm a photographer. I've recently started pivoting into headshot photography and portrait work. I spend a bit of time popping around the Burlesque scene in Los Angeles and recently had the pleasure of shooting with performer Darling Alley Cat (that's her above). We wanted to do something special for her shoot so we went retro.

The floorplan for this one is a little strange because we had a session booked and I had no strobes for that day. So, we went with a set of 4 color-spikes. Setup was something like this:

FLOORPLAN.jpeg

Usually, when I'm doing portraits, I stick with my trusty 70-200mm so jumping over to a 55mm lens pulled me much closer to my subject than I'm accustomed to. But, if you want that vintage look, you go for the vintage glass.

Here's the full gear list for this shot:

  • Backdrop (black)
  • 4x Colorspikes (2 on each side arranged vertically)
  • Sony A7Sii
  • 55mm 1.8 Takumar M42 Lens (most likely around 4.0, judging from the not insane bokeh)

It occurs to me as I type this that not only was this before I bought strobes (I'm coming from the world of video), I hadn't even bought light stands and the Colorspikes were wrangle-locked haphazardly to these weirdo antique c-stands that I got for cheap off of Craigslist.

Finishing was done in Photoshop and I believe I put some energy into exagerating the blur around the edges.

I know that some photographers love their continuous lighting for portraits. I don't know that I'm one of them. While I had fun on set that day, nothing beats the ceremony of the flash. Maybe I'll give it another go with some LED panels one day (the spikes are rods) but I've been having too much fun with my 7' umbrella. What does that look like? Well, tune in tomorrow to find out!

Sort:  

Congratulations @hwfishbowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
You made your First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to steemit, hope to see more interesting content coming soon. Love photography and videography too. But far away not professional 😁 would be happy to see some comments on my content in future 😁👍 see you

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67211.91
ETH 2613.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68