Dubrovnik, Croatia - Historical Gem of Croatia and King's Landing in GoT / 一些我最好杜布罗夫尼克的照片

in #photography7 years ago

Dubrovnik, Croatia

This Summer I had the pleasure of taking a two week vacation between Portugal and Croatia. Since this is my first post on Steemit, I'd like to make a short post highlighting the beauty of the second stop, Dubrovnik, Croatia. If you are interested, I also have some great shots of Lisbon, Portugal as well.

Old Town from Our Apartment
image

This was our view from the AirBnB, next to which an adorable old native lady lived. On our first night we were pretty exhausted on arrival, and after asking for water, she responded, "why water?" and came back with two half liter beers and chocolate cake. She also offered to do my laundry. I meant it when I said I would only stay in her company if I come back to Croatia.

Fort Lovrijenac
image
image

These are a few shots of Fort Lovrijenac on the east cliff near the old town. One can find excellent views atop the fort from the old town walls, on which one can walk what I am guessing is probably 2 kilometers. At the time of taking these pictures in high tourist season, you can imagine how crowded those slim passages were. I was having fun speaking German and Chinese with excited passersby.

Walking Along the Wall
image
image

Further along the wall walk, one has some pretty interesting views of what I think is a European icon: orange roofs. I've lived in Germany for four years, and by now it seems like any site of historical significance in Europe is covered at the ground level by large expanses of bright orange color. In Dubrovnik's dense old town district, this was particularly apparent.

Where We Stopped for Dinner
image

Passing this perspective under the old town's walls, we found a cozy little restaurant where we stopped for food and drinks. I love the combination of Mediterranean cuisine and weather. Delicious food out in the sunshine and warm air with the sound of the sea- what more could one want from a good life?

Dusk over Dubrovnik
image
image

There are actually many more pictures from the days in Dubrovnik, but I'd like to keep my first post light for readers' feedback. I published around 100 images from the visit, and around 388 from the entire two week trip. These last two images are favorites of mine. On two separate occassions, I left the apartment at dusk wearing only earphones and my tripod case so I could capture the descent of the sun over the city. The entire place is so photogenic, simply placing down the camera somewhere and pressing the shutter button gives beautiful results.

I hope you enjoyed the first taste of my photography and writing! I am still a little unsure of how everything here on Steemit works, so please feel free to give some feedback on things I could do better. I have plenty of great photography and stories for you! (I have another much longer draft about my upcoming move, as an American after 4 years of Germany, to Xi'an China.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29