How nature take over an old Graveyard

in #photography7 years ago

After delivering medical devices in some hospitals around London I was driving from Kingston upon Thames to Greenwich where I rent a apartment. Because of the constant rain I not expected to discover any interesting places when I saw an old graveyard. I stopped to look around and was impressed how nature was taking over this place.

graveyard 4.jpg

graveyard 3.jpg

The cemetery is a site of importance for local wildlife. For that reason the grass is cut at different times during spring and summer. So grasses and wildflowers can flourish in some areas.

graveyard 11.jpg

graveyard 6.jpg

There are also squirrels in this cemetery. Lots of squirrels. These seem to be used to people because they are not afraid at all. The squirrel below was even posing for some pictures with my phone.

graveyard 12.jpg

graveyard 13.jpg

There is also an old Gothic chapel in the cemetery. A nice place to shelter for the rain.

graveyard 8.jpg

Below are three more pictures to give a good impression of the graveyard.

graveyard 14.jpg

graveyard 9.jpg

graveyard 2.jpg

I hope you appreciate this topic. If you want to visit the graveyard, this is the address:

Saint Mary's Cemetery (also named: Battersea Cemetery)
Bolingbroke Grove, Wandsworth, London
SW11 1HE, United Kingdom

Sort:  

Interesting pictures @hsq thank you for sharing. Upvote.greets

A wise world history teacher once told me "nature bats last." This is especially true here!!!

Beautiful colors ! Thanks for this post! Upvoted and followed!

Beautiful! I'm not sure if this is the same cemetery my partner and I walked through when we were in London but it was absolutey stunning. How nature can cover and decorate man made creations.. It's magical.

Beautiful photos, great palette!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50