Taking a professional "selfie"

in #photography5 years ago

I don't take "selfies". I feel so very old everytime I see people take selfies. Throughout history, the self portrait is prominent in painting, and also in photography. So here's a picture of me.

Self_Portrait_web.jpg

I needed a new profile picture for my website, and one to use in a professional context. Instead of just getting someone to take the shot, I decided to learn a new lightning technique.

This image was put together in my lounge room, against my dark grey feature wall.

I choose to use my 105 F2 DC on a tripod, and used a single wireless flash to the left of camera. This was to gain the "Rembrandt" lighting.

image.png

This picture shows the set up, you'll have to imagine me standing between the umbrella and the reflector precariously balanced on an office chair. The art work on the wall is 1/100 , and a piece from @lucydyer - one of our veryown Steemians!

image.png

This image is a 400% crop of my eyeball, showing a broken blood vessel being on top of the surface of the eye. The 105 F2 DC is so riddicously sharp!

Comment and critique welcomed.

My Camera Kit and Gear:

2x Nikon D750
Tamron 24-70 f/2.8 VC USD G2
Tamron 70-200 f/2.8 VC USD G2
Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 D
Nikkor 105 f/2 DC
2x Godox TT685N
1x Godox Pro X1 Trigger

Thanks for looking! :)

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by PhotoStream: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Congratulations and keep up the great work!

Join Photostreem DISCORD

Follow the curation trail to support great photography

Thank you. :) I like showing the behind the scenes stuff like this!

well i believe people that take selfies smile so i urge you also to smile

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.282 which ranks you at #806 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 803).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 128 contributions, your post is ranked at #17.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

oh niiiice to see your selfie, i like it my friend !

adelecccgif.gif

Thank you! A bit of an elaborate set up, but it worked. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61830.18
ETH 2457.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54