Shots from the past few days

in #photography5 years ago

I've been out and about, walking around, with the lack of a crippled leg. I've been carrying my camera, and exploring nature reserves around my local area with a keen eye. I'm focusing on colour, tonal range, and detail when I look at a scene. I haven't been paying too much attention to composition.

I took this shot looking down into a dried creek bed, from the base of a collapsed tree. The sun was throwing nice light at the grass, and I used a little flash to illuminate the underside of the tree. I wish there was a little bit more depth in the shot, showing off the sloping ground. Nonetheless, I feel like this works.

image.png

This next shot is straight from the camera.

image.png

I'm tending to underexpose, because I'm enjoying the theatrics of the brighter light giving distinct, sharp highlights. I like the shadows of the trees from out of frame casting an ominous presence on the illuminated, yet collapsed tree.

In the next shot, I was going for a Rembrandt style of image - dark, textural, with spots of colour.

image.png

I love how the tree trunk turned out, and the fact that I was able to capture some orange in and among the green of the undergrowth.

I have been shooting at 100ISO, with fast shutter speeds, again, leading to this underexposed and atmospheric look - something that I hope to translate into throwing a portrait in the foreground of such an image.

This final image is probably the weakest of the bunch, using sunlight that managed to creep through other trees to paint a sliver of light on the ground and trunk.

image.png

Comment and critique welcome. :)

Sort:  

I love the textures of the various pieces of landscape, especially the bark on the trees. I actually love the darker pieces of the landscape as I think the light plays nicely with the different textures and colors.

A beautiful way to start my morning!

!tip

The idea was to expose for the brightest part of the scene, and let everything else fall into shadow and darkness. I've still got a bit of work to do to get the look in my mind out of the camera - but I will get there - I almost want these images to look like studio shots - of a landscape.

Magic Dice has rewarded your post with a 60% upvote. Thanks for playing Magic Dice.

You have receive an upvote. Thanks for playing moonSTEEM

🎁 Hi @holoz0r! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday On My Early Wednesday Walk Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

These pictures are amazing. The work with shadows and lighting makes them really stand out.

Thank you. I feel I've still got a bit of work to do in capturing the best tonal range, but I'm getting close to what I'm aiming for

Posted using Partiko Android

I love this type of place. But never get much opportunity to spend there. Good captures!

Nice to experiment @holoz0r

What do you use for editing?

LR/PS. These just have minor adjustments to levels, contrast and exposure.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've always enjoyed the way you play on contrasts of light! Especially in nature. I definitely want to have a wander with you when the weather is agreeable and do some shooting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely! I'm not free for the next few weekends, but we should definitely discuss this further at the upcoming steem meet next Thursday!

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.214 which ranks you at #897 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 893).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 483 contributions, your post is ranked at #185.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95