You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning Speedlight

in #photography4 years ago

I love combining flash with FULL sunlight outdoors. When you're going for low key images, flash isn't very helpful. When you're doing fashion, glamour, or documentary style images flash will let you tell the story in other ways.

I think you'll like flash a lot more with a grid modifier. It creates a powerful spotlight with feathered, softer shadows.

Sort:  

I just really prefer black to be black so flash for me kinda kills that. If I feel like I need a bit of fill somewhere, I think a reflector is more than enough for that purpose, and I can see what it does!

Hmm, googles grid modifier. I’ve been in photos where there was a grid on a softbox, but you can add a tiny one on flash?

Yes, you can get a little metal grid which attachs with a rubber band to the flash head.

It works really well. :)

Kelsey2.jpg

I captured this image using that sort of a light modifier, one was on a stand, and one was on a table just out of shot.

This is 100% artificially lit in a 1920s movie theatre parlour. The only thing I hate is the obvious shadows across the face and the wall in the background. Should've had the flashes slightly further away.

I’m not a fan of that look. It looks too artificial. I’d gone for a single harsh light from quite high up for that photo and made it super dramatic. But personal preference, as always, and I’m extremely picky.

The mustard coloured walls lead to that effect and where the bounced light has gone around and around.

We're not used to that colour of light, and the colour cast in the highlights and flesh is what leads to this artificial and unnatural look.

Speedlights are harsh lights by their nature. They can carve devastating shadows into subjects when used well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68976.16
ETH 3307.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67