Geocaching - a day in KnoxvillesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6178.JPG

I had no idea how much fun these strange tech-wanderers were having!

Amelia and I decided to cut a weekend trip to Nashville short (after a successful STEEM meetup) and enjoy the bright sunlight and downtown activity. Our outings begin the same as how I imagine other couples start; “where should we go”, “sounds expensive”, “when does food fit into that plan?” Ok, the last one was me, but we’ve all been there.

Recently, a coworker of ours tried Geocaching with her sister. They shared pictures filled with smiles and greenbrowns of the outdoors. Obviously the idea sparked our interests.

We embark...


What is ge·o·cach·ing?

ˈjēōˌkaSHiNG

noun

the recreational activity of hunting for and finding a hidden object by means of GPS coordinates posted on a website.


...app downloaded, iphone battery... well, good enough, dogs loaded in the car, and we’re off! Alright, ok, I’ll admit it - my mindset starting our journey was something like “heck-yeah boo, gotta catch ‘em all!” The trill of discovering the cache is great, however discovering new places (even within the familiar ones), and problem solving with a partner to do-so were MY favorite parts about this geocaching journey.

It wasn’t our first time to Knoxville. It’s a city Amelia and I now call home. Nevertheless, this app and list of coordinates was able teach (and) us about the history that is preserved between the city streets - like corridors in the House.

4ADF29A0-6835-49BE-9A00-5653D4749198.jpeg

So, no matter how loco you look, or if the muggles (just learned this term) are lurking, will you try geocaching?

Please see these few snaps by @ameliabartlett of our adventure. More film photos coming... brought a Canon AE1, [kromiəm] 500, Konica 160.

70DEABCC-CE94-4968-8CDF-B21DF920870A.jpeg

92100268-58DB-45D2-BA88-E8F8428E5246.jpeg

44467507-581D-4C7D-829D-20C3E21E21FB.jpeg

IMG_3268.JPG

5EE945A9-F17F-46C7-A032-B877F7D942F3.jpeg

IMG_1650 2.JPG

Comments welcome about my purse.

Sort:  

I should do this with my kids at some point. I think they'd love it. It was nice meeting you on Saturday. I hope our intense conversation didn't freak you out too much. :)

Seriously, you will enjoy it as much as they will! It was a pleasure meeting you Saturday, besides no passionate conversation scares @ameliabartlett and I away 😏

Should do an #introduceyourself/ #introducemyself post on here, let everyone know about you ;)

Thanks for the heads-up, finally got it done !

I completely forgot about Geocaching, I have put it back on a list of recreational things I'd like to get to do, thanks for the reminder. This looks like you're having fun with it.

It’s defiantly a must-try. I recommend bringing a friend you haven’t seen in a while, a date, or with family, you will enjoy the organic story telling and the trill of (mild) adventure.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=hobotang
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=geocaching-a-day-in-knoxville


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@hobotang, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57097.85
ETH 3049.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30