Gear Talk: “What Camera Are You Using?” Part 3

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

7BB5557E-EDC8-4ABE-9EB0-D94F93AE4BC4.jpegPhoto by @AmeliaBartlett - iPhone

A question I receive often as a photographer is, "What camera are you using?"

If it’s your first visit, be sure to start this series with Part 1 & Part 2!



Asset 1-210.png

Introducing a very special camera (to me) - the MAMIYA C330ƒ

Behold this fully mechanical and sturdy twin lens reflex medium format camera!
Sturdy... like a brick, and about as heavy as one too coming in at almost 4lbs with the grip attachment connected. It’s not easy to use by any means - manipulation of each control to capture the perfect exposure takes some practice to perform effectively. However, it makes me slow down. Be patient. Besides, speed is a byproduct of accuracy. You’ll get the hang of it. This camera will prob hold a special place in my heart, as it’s the camera that sparked my inspiration to jump back into #filmphotography.

EA3C24EB-98A8-44D2-8D52-A829F6F27D49.jpeg
Photo by @hobotang - iPhone

If someone made me decide, this would be my favorite of the ones I own. Cast Away on a deserted island, would it be my choice? Give me an ambient light meter too, and I’ll name it Wilson.

After a long hiatus away from the art of photography my partner @ameliabartlett and I found ourselves at a “Camera Swap” at the Knoxville Community Darkroom. This Mamiya was living in a university basement before we picked it up, and in excellent condition. I was able to score what seemed at the time, more attachments that could event fit the camera! for under $600! Now equipped with a suite of lenses, grip attachment, and few other accessories I was diving head first back into a former passion.

DSC_7197.jpg
Photo by Nick

Wide-angle Lenses

55 mm ƒ/4.5 and 65 mm ƒ/3.5

Normal Lenses

80 mm ƒ/2.8 and 105 mm ƒ/3.5

Telephoto Lenses

180 mm ƒ/4.5, and 250 mm ƒ/6.3

I typically use a Prism finder but will sometimes go back to the standard waist-level viewfinder. There’s interchangeable focus screens available too - got one just in case.

The C330 rises above the rest of the fleet, and other medium format TLRs because of its ability for super close focusing - achieved by using bellows focusing. By far my favorite characteristic of this heavy box well crafted machine.

bellows.jpg
Photo by JitteryPixel

Like I mentioned above, this camera makes me slow down. Be present with each element that creates the final image. Teaches me patience with not only it, but the process. And it’s a common theme to why I like film photography in general. But for all the nerds that aren’t concerned with my foofoo sh!t...

“Everything from #landscapephotography to #portraitphotography this camera is good for the job. Here’s the manual.”



Asset 1-210.png

Here are a few of my favorite shots from the C330 I developed myself.

64614519-113D-4D12-85D2-5A75A5A1F0E5.jpeg Photo by @hobotang - The Slow Rolling Home under renovation in Oak Ridge, TN (edited)



5F0BBD67-F2B6-49EC-BDE6-FA519271036D.jpegPhoto by @hobotang - taken at the Nashville Tennessee Farmers Market. Please excuse the dirty scan.



Asset 1-210.png

During the research for this series I made a discovery...

If you’ve followed this Gear Talk: “What Camera Are You Using?” series, you know the idea was prompted from The Alliance Classroom Homework. I never anticipated learning so much and having so much fun. Did you catch the what all three cameras have in common? Japanese made.

I imagine my favorite photographers in the 30’s and 40’s like Arthur Rothstein or Dorothea Lange shooting with the fanciest German machines. Not sure how historically accurate this is, but it’s my imagination - embrace it. Although I’m certain Japanese cameras of this era were in large part inferior to their German counterparts. After all, we’re talking about (already) reputable names of Leica, Zeiss, and Rollei... For a long time, a Japanese camera is what a photographer bought if he couldn’t afford a German machine. It wasn’t until the 1950’s, when Japanese camera makers began refining their optics and manufacturing processes, that their machines began to match and ultimately surpass those of their German rivals.

9FCEC950-EDB0-40C8-A318-D3DACC9A3241.jpeg
Photo from @iyolanda at upsplash

As for the general public, I’d say most use affordable Japanese cameras. And would consider Canon and Nikon would seem fairly equal. However, any camera nerd knows they've had a history of competition. My first camera was a Pentax 1000, but if you asked, I'd tell you my professional camera was a Nikon - from which I learned. Nikon quickly became a household name after producing the Nikon F SLR - but a lesser-celebrated and equally worthy Japanese camera existed even before the F. Minolta produced a camera in 1955 that, while not in the same class as Nikon’s first SLR, refined and perfected a different class of machine known as the TLR. This Twin Lens Reflex camera was known as the Autocord, and it was a better camera than any TLR made by the Germans #fuzzyfacts. Honestly, I’m just happy you’re shooting - to many photographers loose momentum (like I did). So, until I discover a new treasure to add to my collection this is what camera I’m using. If you’re trying to expand your photography skills, or just learn a new hobby, try a film camera. Keep it alive.



Asset 1-210.png

Just for fun I’ve included a wish list - Here are a few of my favorite:
  • Fuji GA645 - The ultimate medium format full auto point and shoot
  • Pentax 67 - 6x7 monster handheld
  • Nikon F3 Press Edition - Weather tight 35mm
  • Graflex Speed Graphic - "Why?" I say why not? 4x5 Large format handheld
More on this later 😏...



Asset 1-210.png




Hey, my name is Tang. 👋

Most people know me for being a bus dweller - I converted a school bus into a custom RV, but I’m also a film photographer, dreadlocked Legolas, and a dad to a dog named Hobo. Right now, I'm experimenting with vintage cameras and expired film, learning how to mountain bike, and sharing my adventures along the way.

Check out my first attempt at a curation here

First time on my blog? Say hi below. 🤙

Sort:  

great photo my friend, that old camera certainly gives it "the touch"

it is not about the camera,it is more about the vision

Thanks @malos10 it’s was nice to chat with you for a moment on discord. See you around 🤙

tu post esta muy bueno y las fotos espectaculares

Muchos gracias

I saw this on PYPT and just LOVE your shots. Your posts are always so interesting.

Your post is awesome @hobotang! I'm just starting out in analog photography, waiting on a Kickstarter funded developer for my rolls and a kickstarter funded app that lets me scan those negatives - and I'll be a very digital analog photographer! :D

I’m going to have to check out this Kickstarter - I love trying out new processes. As for scanning, it’s just the world we live in... if ya wanna share - easiest way with this medium is by scanning. You go girl! Reach out any time with questions, and don’t forget to share those results!

Thank you so much for sharing!

Wow TLRs are such cool looking instruments but also incredibly useful tools! It is honestly such a shame that people don’t use them like they use to! I have always loved film photography and the TLR world is definitely one I want to get into!

As a photographer myself I get so excited to see people use forgotten gear and make pure ART from you! You are a true artist! Both in writing and by using your eye and your skills!

I’m really liking your page! Not only are you a cool hipster but also a true artist that this world needs more of!

Thanks for sharing! :) 🤙

Hey thanks for the kind words and for taking the time to leave a comment. I’ll be following some of your content

Hi hobotang,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

good luck great shot

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors.

We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the lookout for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73