How I got started and why I do what I dosteemCreated with Sketch.

Maybe the most interesting thing about how I started, is that it was a bit of a fluke. I wanted to get a hobby outside of work, just like a lot of photographers out there. I ended up getting an entry level Nikon camera after days and hours of a one-sided debate with my wife. Bless her heart she had no idea what it would turn into. I shot just about everything I could. Most of my early shots were of my dog and close family members.

Then, life happened and my camera remained in its bag, untouched, at least for a bit. Fortunately, the best thing happened to me. One of my good friends, who had actually shot my own wedding, invited me to shoot a wedding with him. I quickly jumped at the idea, with little understanding of the full undertaking of a second photographer/assistant, let alone shooting such an important day with a beginner camera. Fortunately, I am fast learner. I hit the web and read as many reputable articles as I could, as well as posting all sorts of questions to various online forums. Before I knew it, the day came. I don’t know who was more excited or nervous, me or the bride and groom. It was a blast! All I can say is, I just knew I was hooked and there was no turning back.

Naturally, I dove deeper into my research. I read up on gear, the best techniques, and searched any question that came into my mind. It became clear that this road was not going to be an easy one and was not about to happen overnight. The competition was going to be endless. The one thing I know and have purely relied on, is being me. I am confident that shooting in my own personal style, through my aesthetic is far better than striving to be a second rate version of someone else. So, I continued to sharpen my skills and understanding of all aspects of photography. I made sure I had a firm grasp for composition and advanced lighting techniques. I’ve never stopped practicing. I continued to shoot friends, family, coworkers and even shoot for a modeling agency, working with their amateur models. I’ve taken every bit of knowledge and experience and applied them to the one thing I love to shoot most, weddings.
I love it, pure and simple. I guess you could say it’s the inner romantic in me. From the big smiles, the tears of joy, and the genuine embraces, I love it. It is so meaningful to be a part of a couple’s specials day. Even though I have just met the new couple I get the honor and privilege to be there and document some of their most precious moments. Although weddings can be stressful, nerve racking, and fast paced, I would never trade it for anything else. I can only hope to continue meeting new couples and working hard keep doing it for as long as I can.

www.stevennaranjophotography.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34