Shooting The Stars in Manay, Davao Oriental

in #photography6 years ago

DSC_0482.jpg


During our trip in Manay, of course, the twinkly little stars showed themselves to the awesome humans on earth. That includes me. :P

For a city girl like me who hasn't gone to provinces with a night sky like this, this is my first time seeing those stars... And they are mesmerizing!

The landscape noob tried photographing them using her camera. The process includes the "How the hell?" and "How do you shoot this shit?" with lots of "Damn girl you noob" and "Oh okay this is probably how you do it".

I asked my friends to pose for 15-20 seconds.. These drunk boys have no other choice though. :P



DSC_0508.jpg



DSC_0509.jpg



DSC_0510.jpg


Too much noise, yeah. But better than not taking photos at all.

DSC_0527.jpg



DSC_0528.jpg



And a pose on a rock.




And I let my friend take a photo of me too. Yeah, that's me in my pajamas lol.

DSC_0550.jpg



There were some cars passing by and that's how I got the trees lit up.

DSC_0492.jpg



DSC_0534.jpg



And just a silhouette.

DSC_0563.jpg



DSC_0556.jpg


For a first timer with shooting stars, I'd say I am happy with the shots even though it clearly needs a lot of improvements. Experience is a treasure.

Sort:  

You pulled it off! Nice, I know that you're shooting with a crop-sensor and not a wide angle, so it can be quite the challenge to capture the stars on film. I'm pretty jealous because you have such a nice sky where you're from! The sky here is pretty contaminated, so the smog is preventing us from capturing the stars with long exposures! If you want to pinpoint where the Milkyway is, there is an App you can download called "StarWalk" .

You can try to crush the blacks a little bit so you get less of noise shown in the photographs. But that's something about taste. I think I've shown you how to do it right?


(for example)

Looking forward to seeing your progress with this!

Oh I forgot you actually told me to lessen the noise you have to crush the blacks :D
Wow, I didn't know there's an app for that! Tanks u! And what are you waiting for? Get your ticket to Philippines so you could see these stars :P


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I can feel the sensor smoke from the electric charge. LOL. That pulled off rather nicely still. Cram 3 of those into a 8x10 print and it will make a very artsy frame for display still. I haven't seen that much stars in a long time. I think I better start googling "how to photograph stars in the dark" ahead of the day of reckoning, when the opportunity will present.

EDIT:

"To photograph the stars in the sky as pinpoints of light, start with as wide an f/stop as your lens allows, and shutter speed of about 20 seconds. Any more time than that and the stars will begin to blur. Increase the ISO as needed for a good exposure." source: nikon

Pretty much how I would start out. Back to reading...

Damn, I wish I googled it before shooting. Hahaha. Go try it too! It's a fun experience :D

I like the noise. It makes it interesting. So much more than just stars. Love how creative you are hiddi. You're a genius, seriously.

I did nothing to be called a genius in this post! But thanks if you think so Gaby hahaha. Yeah, I think it's still cool with all the noise too.. but I think it would look better without it :D

Maybe. But the thing is that you always bet to do things the unconventional way. And that is exactly what makes you stand out. Star shots are all over the internet. This on the other hand, to me is different and interesting. So from my perspective, it's more valuable.

Night skies are so hard to shoot =p but you did great!

Yes it is! Thank you, Devil :P

Don't worry about the noise: these are so beautiful @hiddenblade!! I miss this so much... No stars to be seen in the city, not like this... Thanks for sharing your night's sky with us :-)

Thank you! Yeah, you have to go to nowhere just to see this lol. You're welcome! Glad you like it

Improvements? I don't see how! These are stunning photos. And that sky. I'm always so amazed that those stars are hiding up there and when we live near cities we don't even begin to see them all. It's really rather tragic.

Yeah. I wonder if we would have an 'earth day' every night.. we would probably see these! Thank you!

These are so pretty, hiddi <3 I love how you capture the softness and the magical feeling of a starry night in these photos so much <3 It makes me look up at my own sky and boy, you can't hardly see the stars in the city :( Gorgeous photos, hiddi, they make me want to go out of the city and travel where I can see the starry skies <3

Looked like a beautifully clear sky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76