A day out ... Beekse Bergen Part 1.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Time is really flying. It has been almost a week since I was treated by a friend on a day trip to Beekse Bergen Safari Park. Why? To celebrate that I was finally able to buy the new camera ... Because a trip around the world simply cannot be done in one day, we had to be content with photographing the animals that live in the Beekse Bergen. That comes closest to the idea of ​​wildlife. And we enjoyed a nice day together.

What have we seen?

And more importantly, what have I been able to record ... because oh dear, quite soon after arriving in the Beekse Bergen I had to deal with a telephoto lens that had considerable problems. Focusing was not flawless to express it gently… And where I thought my lens would die before the day was up, and so I could no longer take pictures, it was ultimately a second problem that caused it that unfortunately I could not save any more photos from the second half of the day. A writing error on my memory card has caused me to lose around 200 photos. Its a shame, but there is nothing to do about it!

I tried to save some more with recovery software, but the files were simply not written properly and none of the programs I tried could recover them. They were seen, and there it stopped ...

Now I am only very happy that this happened while I was photographing for myself for a day, and not during a paid assignment. Then this was much worse. And yes, normally I always have a spare memory card with me ... but not now.

Now back to what I DO have, because that is of course much more important in the end than what I don't have.

Starting with the CHEETAH.



The cheetahs were the first animals we could greet. And of course they are photogenic those big cats. I swear, if I didn't know that this beautiful animal can be very dangerous, I would have petted it and hugged it. Did you know that these big cats make the same sounds as the house cats? They also purr and meow ... they can't growl and roar like lions and tigers do. Cheetahs are missing a bone in their throats that Tigers and Lions have. And that bone makes sure that these two can growl and roar, and the Cheetah cannot.

But this beautiful animal is the fastest mammal in the world. He can reach a speed of more than 100 km per hour in a sprint. Of course he does not hold this for long. A second or 20, or rather, around 500 meters ... A real powersprint. In the build-up to this sprint, he accelerates with every step he sets around 10 km per hour. Those are some impressive facts about this animal.




Normally these cheetahs do not attack humans, but it is and remains a predator. So never underestimate the animal and be on your guard. If he feels threatened by you, he will not hesitate and will certainly strike. And given the enormous jump power and speed of this animal, it will certainly be faster than you. It is a fact that this cheetah is the easiest of all cats to tame. It is known that these cheetahs were kept as pets by kings of certain countries in ancient times. They kept these animals on a leash so that the animal could protect the king against danger.

I prefer to see them in freedom, but again ... a REAL safari in a day is not an option. So then a Safari in the Beekse Bergen.



If you want to know which other animals we encountered in the Beekse Bergen, follow my blog. Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Too bad of the lens and memory card :( but at least you got to save some of them.. These big cats look indeed as if you could just pet them hehe

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80