Part 3: Hiking to Greer Spring

in #photography8 years ago (edited)


The hike from the parking lot to the spring is .9 miles. Doesn't aound too bad, right? It isn't too bad on your way down to the spring. Its the hike back up that killed me.


Mushrooms. I didn't see as many mushrooms as I had hoped.


Mossy rocks. One of my favorite things about Missouri forests.


A perfectly shaped woodpecker hole.


The cave at the springs.


Mossy rocks with some interesting plants growing among it.


More mossy rocks. More pretty little plants.


Watercress growing under the water in the spring.


Frilly little plant. I wish I could see it after it is grown.


Liverwort!

Thats it for the hike photos. Thanks for looking. I hope one day you can visit southern Missouri and enjoy all our beautiful scenery!

https://steemit.com/photography/@hethur240/part-1-hiking-to-greer-spring-alton-mo

https://steemit.com/photography/@hethur240/part-2-wildflowers-of-greer-spring-march-2017

Sort:  

not that you asked, but I'm thinking the large tree at the top is an Austrian Pine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54