Our Giant Choquete Avocado Tree is Bearing its First Fruit.

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_5240.JPG
It actually had over 50 small fruits, it was left down to about 13 small ones, then the wind ripped them all out but one. The tree is still young so not strong enough to hold the fruits through the high winds.

IMG_5239.JPG
The tree is still very young but next season it should be set in and have hopefully at least a dozen fruits.

Sort:  

very good avocados , yam yam :)

First Time fruit is always Amazing.... Awesome Pictures .... Appreciated..!!

Yes .. Agreed..!!

Wow! I love avocados.

They are great. 🙌🏼🙌🏼

When are you going to send me some then? ;)
Love it @healthyrecipe... all of the things I could make with them... I haven't found an avocado around here that I like! California spoiled me! These look so amazing... my mind is on guacamole right now but also since I just made my icecream post... I'm thinking avocado icecreamm..... yum either way :) I love this!

Florida has got some amazing avocado varieties too. I do not know how they have figured it out but they have gigantic avocados here that are over 3lbs per fruit, yet they are super yellow and buttery inside with a tiny pit. I had a tree that I grew in my house when we lived in Miami. Funny thing is we plated the tree during Hurricane Katrina. We had no power for a whole week and we had already bough that tree and a mango tree and a few others. We had no idea that the hurricane was actually going to hit our area like it did because the news said it was going to miss us. We kept the trees inside until it passed through then went outside and planted them. Best avocados I have ever had an cool story to tell lol.

Wow thanks for the update on this! I've never seen an actual avocado tree before believe it or not. But absolutely love them! Look forward to seeing how this progresses :D

For sure, we have like 4 or 5 trees on our property. We also have a Hass tree that produces the smaller avocadoes that most people are familiar with that have the rough dark skin on them. That one had like 50 fruits but it was also a young tree and we had some real rough winds this year and we lost them all. Next season as the tree gets stronger it should be much better. We also grow all of our own herbs and many of our spices. I put up another post today with pictures of all of those, from Lemongrass, Oregano and Basil, to Linden leaves for calming tea.

I checked out your other post too. This is all very impressive! Is this just your personal garden, or do you also grow your produce for commercial use?

Its just my personal garden at home. It is about 1/3 of an acre so plenty of room for planting all kinds of stuff that grows here in the tropical weather all year. Florida weather is the same as the Caribbean. We are only about 300 miles away fro the Caribbean Islands.

Oh that's great! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63