This IS NOT A Stone (#42)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

#42.jpg

From interview with Tom Waits in De Volkskrant, Friday 21 October 2011

You are an innovator but also a traditionalist. What do you do to create new stuff?
“I dont't know. My neighbour across the street works in antiques. He gets up at 3 am and travels the county to salvage old stuff; doors, windows, door knobs. He dusts them, repairs and repaints them, sells them.

Maybe I am doing the same. All songs I ever heared are inside me and are the blueprint for my own songs. Nobody creates new songs, we update old ones.”

What do you do when you're not making music?
“I collect old junk."

Musical old garbage or just old garbage?
“Just old junk you can find on the side of the road. Crushed bottle caps. One time I convinced my kids that those are worth a fortune. Once you remove the makeup I am actually quite a simple person.”


Number 42 in the continuous series "This IS NOT A Stone"

To watch the previous post in this series follow this link to: 'This IS NOT A Stone #42'

Or start at the beginning: 'Everything In One Stone'

Sort:  

Very different interview from the ordinary ones! Unexpected and quite refreshing!
We would never have such interview in my country! Never!

Yes, I, too, like it when a person or a certain situation forces you to look at something from a whole different perspective than your own.

I like it Hat nice interview

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49