On January 20, 2019, the moon got smacked while the lights were turned off

in #photography6 years ago

I was about to go to bed when my son asked me if I saw the moon. I replied that I had not seen it and asked what was there to see. He told me it was all red, so I went outside to take a look. I had no idea the moon would be in a total eclipse, otherwise I would have been prepared and taken pictures of the start until totality and then I could have gone to bed. Instead, I would only begin taking pictures after totality and then stay awake until the moon was fully out of the Earth's shadow.

I rushed to get my camera and took hand-held shots. Here is my first...


IMG_4408.JPG

The first sliver of light is just showing after totality



IMG_4411.JPG

The sliver of light gets a bit bigger



IMG_4417.JPG

...and bigger



IMG_4431.JPG

Now it looks like a typical crescent moon



IMG_4432.JPG

We don't see this shape very often



IMG_4436.JPG

This image makes me think of the incomplete Death Star from the Star Wars movie



IMG_4439.JPG

Almost a complete full moon now



IMG_4440.JPG

This is more or less what I saw just looking up into the sky

There was thin cloud, so it gave a soft fuzzy look to the moon



IMG_4444.JPG

And finally, the full moon all lit up again!


I kept getting distracted and wasn't able to make a post with my images of the solar eclipse until now. Just as well, because now I have more to report:
The Point Roberts, Washington, USA newspaper called the All Point Bulletin reported that the moon was struck by a small meteorite just after totality. The meteorite is estimated to be somewhere between the size of a tennis ball and a football, and made a crater approximately 20 feet in diameter.
This report is confirmed by the following websites:
https://www.space.com/43075-blood-moon-2019-meteor-impact-video.html
https://www.nationalgeographic.com/science/2019/01/meteor-hit-the-moon-during-blood-moon-eclipse-heres-what-we-know/
https://earthsky.org/astronomy-essentials/meteor-strike-moon-eclipse-jan-2019

My son doesn't think much of these events but I think it is kind of special to be able to witness something rare first hand.
I hope you enjoy my photographs of the lunar eclipse of January, 2019.

TextDivider1.jpg

I sincerely thank you for your interest!
signature.gif
Footer.png

Sort:  

Haha my dear @happyme. Tell now to your son about these news regarding what could have been that rare event on the sky that he was able to witness jointly with you a few days ago babe. :)

EDIT: Oops, forgot include the link of the scientist's paper: https://arxiv.org/pdf/1901.09573.pdf

Good links my friend. Thank-you!

My pleasure babe!! 👍

Greetings for your son!! :)

Try to tell him the full name of the moon you witnessed 😉

If memory serves it's a Super Wolf Blood Moon Eclipse or something like it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely a blood moon. Not sure about the super wolf part, but it wouldn't surprise me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76