Miniature Gardening

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Our little garden is my "go to place" whenever I want or need to relax and de-stress. Or to just simply take a break. Wanting to grow my YouTube channel as content creator uploading 3 to 4 videos a week is time consuming with hours spent on putting subtitles as I make language lessons. But being outside our small space garden - hearing the wind chimes and the hummingbirds is uplifting. And in our little garden you can find my hobby - miniature gardening.

chairs.jpg
Miniature garden.

Getting Into Miniature Gardening
First time seeing teeny-tiny garden decors and getting into online miniature shops feels like a kid in a candy store. I didn't know there's such a thing. Those tiny decorations are so adorable! Seeing how cute they are from photos of gardeners, I wanted to try and experience the fun of it.

mudra.jpg
Mom admiring the flowering daisies.

It was 2013 when I first bought a flowering plant online and little landscape rocks. And I don't have the green thumb so sadly the miniature plant called heron's bill didn't last long although I enjoyed some flowers. It was 2014 when I bought the miniature daisies with other set of plants.

medaisies.jpg
Taking a selfie last year 2016 with the miniature garden. The daisies are blooming. The maiden hair is doing well and I'm guiding it to climb to a shrub branch.

Currently the maiden hair back then is now bushy. Being busy with work I didn't have time to trim and keep an eye on it and guide it after I changed the tree branch I wanted it to climb on. I was surprised to see it last Spring in its dense, tree-like form. It's like a magical place untouched waiting to be rediscovered.

dense.jpg
The maiden hair with its tree-like shape after I bought it 2014.

Getting More Decors For The Garden
I had luck when my dad and I visited a Big Lots store looking for an item he needs. I spotted fairy garden decorations and all on sale. It paid off visiting my favorite aisle - garden. I got some pathways and a 5 piece sitting collection.

path.jpg
Chairs and pathways.

I also decided to make my own ladder out of bamboo skewers. It took a while making it, but doing it while watching my favorite tv series didn't seem like I spent some time.

ladder.jpg
Miniature ladder made from bamboo skewers.

Last week on our way home to do our weekly groceries, I decided to stop by at the same store I got the decors from to check if items are still on sale as I was thinking of getting the fence this time. And guess what? Items are still on sale! I was excited and happy as these decors cost more online. I can't help but admire the fairy houses again. Honestly I was tempted to get one of these.

fairy1.jpg
Come in! How could you resist not getting one of these?

fairy2.jpg
Fairy houses on sale. I was tempted to get one but it wouldn't fit in my miniature garden.

With situations like this, luckily, asking myself "Do you need it? Or you want it?" works most of the time. And this time is no different. It saved me from spending money on something I don't really need. It helped me as well to focus on what I was looking for - miniature decors. They have the fence but something else caught my eye. The store have a well and it's a wishing well. I've been thinking on how I could make one for my tiny garden but now that they have it, I decided to get one along with a 2 piece garden decor instead of the fence.

decors.jpg
Wishing well and 2 piece garden decor.

Again, I had fun rearranging my new garden decors. This video will give you a glimpse of my hobby - miniature gardening.

I also got another sitting collection since it was on sale, just to have it ready as I'm thinking of making another one or two miniature garden as a gift for upcoming birthdays and maybe for holiday season. It will be a special gift made with love.

sit.jpg
Pathways and sitting collection.

Where Did I Get My Other Decors?
If you want to start your own little world and don't want to spend a lot buying decors online, pay a visit on some thrift stores in your area. I got the houses from a thrift store. The two houses I have in my miniature garden cost me $1.50 each. Smaller ones will cost less than a $1. Keep an eye for other decors when you visit your local 99 Cents Store as they also carry some items you might need such as decorative stones and pots. Don't forget seasonal decors as well that goes on sale after the holidays, the squirrel for example that I have came from Walmart's after Christmas sale.

squirrel.jpg
Teeny-tiny squirrel.

The now bushy maiden hair serving like a miniature tree gives shades and in bloom.
tinyflowers.jpg
Flowering maiden hair.

And to end this post, the wishing well.
wishes.jpg
Wishing well - where wishes come true.

Happy weekend everyone. Feel free to leave some wishes.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Thanks for sharing, you gave a great idea for my garden.

Thank you @titotips 🙂 I'm glad I did. I followed you as I want to see what you will come up with for your garden. 😀

Gardening seems so much fun!

Yes. 😄 And it's fun creating some items too for the mini garden. ☺

ohhhh, amazing!! i love plants!! great job

Me too! Thanks @marekule 🙂

It's freakin' cute. I love it! :D

Nice happyfree. Thanks for sharing.

Nice hobby you've got there :)

That's a nice mini garden! I've never seen somebody with a hobby like this :D I followed you.

I always was fascinated by these miniature railways, where also many mini citys etc. are built.

Thanks @jbp 😀 They fascinates me too. Probably why I got into miniature gardening. But the small decors and plants are costly so I just keep an eye for decors when at the stores.

Yes, I also once looked into a store and the stuff was really expensive..

Congratulations @happyfree! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post made me smile. It deserves an upvote, resteem, and a follow. Hope to see more post like this. Thanks @happyfree

Glad it did @wakeupjohnny 😃 Thank you. Yes I would be posting more miniature gardening and would share hummingbird watching photos and videos next time. ☺ Followed you. Happy weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29