You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BLACKLIGHT SCORPION - Unedited and Awesome!!!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

That's great that you know some of the good things to eat there in the Sonoran desert, @anotherjoe! I harvested and ate a lot of mesquite pods, prickly pear pads and fruits, and summer weeds like common mallow. But I enjoyed the palo verde beans, cholla buds, and saguaro fruits, too. And then there are all the citrus, dragonfruit, dates, jujubes, and olives in town, too! One of my favorite was young tumbleweeds - they came up thick, all at once, in my yard, so they were easy to harvest when they were about 3 inches high. They were great just sauteed in a stir fry. I am determined to get some seed on my next trip down there and try growing them for microgreens - they are that good! Enjoy your local desert -- and scorpions! : )

Sort:  

I've not had the saguaro fruit yet, but have heard that it's great. Never had tumbleweeds. Didn't even know about eating them, but it makes sense to get them when they're young. We have a lot of purslane in our yard. And the amaranth is supposed to be good, but wifey is allergic.
One of my favorite snacks are the fruit from the barrel cactus. I don't know that much about the food sources available though... not nearly what I should.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45