Visiting the Somme battlefields 🇬🇧🇫🇷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A year ago I went on a History trip to visit the Somme battlefields and other historical places. We took a ferry from Dover to Calais. It was such an eye opening trip as there were hundreds of unmarked grave stones however the nationality of the soldiers were known.
If you didn't already know the battle of Somme was a battle that took place during the First World War in which the British and French armies were fighting against the German Empire. The battle took place on the 1 July 1916 until the 18th of November 1916. It was one of the bloodiest battles in which thousands of soldiers lost their lives. While we visited the grave stones we payed tribute to those fallen soldiers by placing Poppies.
Here are some of the pictures I took on
the trip.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

I also took some pictures on the ferry when going to Calais and some pictures of the town.
image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

It was my first time visiting France and I learned the strangest thing which was that they don't have separate toilets for men and women. As you can see it stuck with me 😂.

Hope you enjoyed this post :)
UPVOTE , COMMENT & FOLLOW

Sort:  

you must like exploring. i love you for that. upvoted and resteemed

I really do and thank you I really appreciate it :)

Muy Bonitas tus fotos me gustaron Mucho. Visita mi post y dame tu opinion eso seria de gran importancia para mi.

Gracias por comentar Definitivamente revisaré tus publicaciones :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91