African Lions

in #photography5 years ago

The circus came to town, I was doing my daily walk and had to go over and check out these magnificent animals.

WP_20181230_18_47_13_Pro.jpg

It was a super hot day and the lions were just relaxing on the grass, not really doing much at all.

WP_20181230_18_47_05_Pro.jpg

It was awesome to get this close to them although the fence was in the way, I don't have a decent camera anymore so I couldn't zoom in past the bars so once again not happy with the result but at least I managed to get a few snaps.

WP_20181230_18_45_52_Pro.jpg

They looked really bored and I did feel a bit sorry for them, top predators being caged up for the entertainment of consumers. I imagined them on the wild planes running free eating things.

sign.jpg

This sign says that they live 8-10 years in the wild and 18-20 in captivity, so nearly double the average life if they were free, I wondered if they were happy sitting around doing nothing until being called on to perform tricks as needed in the circus.

WP_20181230_18_50_49_Pro.jpg

It was great to see them and I also wondered what would happen if they got out, the fence was a bit temporary looking.

I was talking to one of my relatives and apparently in Coffs Harbour many years ago some lions did escape, that would have made for an interesting few days while the rounded them back up!

These images were taken by me I hold all copyrights.

Sort:  

Every time I see a lion or a tiger I can't help wondering what would happen if someone threw a giant ball of wool over the fence. Would they react like a house cat and pounce on it or would they just not give a shit?

Cool pics mate.

@gyro You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

That's a lot of extra years if you are lying around bored most of the day. Magnificent animals.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah that's what I thought as well, they seemed like a fairly relaxed bunch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76