Exploration Series I: Portland in Black and White

in #photography7 years ago

On the 6th of November, I was set free to create. I had just finished working 45 days straight, 12-16 hours per day, on an isolated property in rural Oregon about a half hour drive from any town. Some of you may find that to be a terribly claustrophobic situation to find yourself in and others might be wondering where they could sign up. For me, this is the lifestyle I have chosen to pursue over the last 5 years as a traveling winemaker. I have done similar stints in Argentina, Australia, Napa, and Sonoma and wouldn’t trade these experiences for the anything.

The isolation of rural Oregon was calming once I could settle my mind down and appreciate the 70 acre farm for everything that it was. As the harvest progressed and my beard grew (a chronological indicator in the wine industry), I slowly recognized my need for the rumble and racket of the city. The neverending pace and boisterous streets bring me a sense of peace that is different than that felt in the country. Both rural and urban areas are impactful and important in their own ways - like yin and yang, east and west, ya dig? Time in the city could not be appreciated without time in the country and vice versa.

The harvest was finished by early November and on my first day off I ventured to the city with a brightness in my eye. I arrived downtown and had an entire day blocked off with nothing to pursue except for the pursuit itself. With my camera in tow, I hit the town with a endless clarity. The photographs below are a glimpse at that day in Portland. They mean a lot to me because they represent much more than a walk downtown. To me, they represent that feeling of ultimate freedom and simplicity. You know that feeling, right?

DSC04754.JPG

DSC04751.JPG

DSC04761.JPG

DSC04735.JPG

DSC04771.jpg

DSC04728.jpg

DSC04743.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @gvali! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45