Punks.... they come in all shapes an sizes....

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I grew up in Southern California in a great place called Lake Elsinore. It was a fantastical place to grow up as a child.

Why?

Because of the absolute craziness that swirled around me. Early Sky Diving Technology and Techniques were developed there with many records being broken. And I saw my share of parachutes not open and learned that bodies bounce when they hit the ground. Early Hang Gliding technology and techniques were also developed with people jumping off of the top scenic view point on the Ortega Mountains just above our House. I saw a lot of crash and burns there as well. But what was really great was the Lake Elsinore Grand Prix.... A Motorcycle race thru the hills surrounding the town and lake. It attracted motorcycle racing greats like Malcom Smith and Steve McQueen. I remember it being pretty wild watching the Motorcycles scream thru down town. This event was later shut down by the town because of the community being over run by Motorcycle Gangs like the Hells Angels that would converge on the town for the race. But it was really great none the less. Honda created a "dirt bike" named the "Elsinore" to commemorate the race after it was shut down. It was one of the first dirt bikes of its kinde because up until then people had just modified street motorcycle for dirt racing. And then there was my Dad. He bought me my first motorcycle when I was 7. A little Yamaha Enduro. I use to pack my little brother and two friends on it with me sitting on the tank and we would head off thru the walnut groves on the north side of the lake. I think if my parents knew that we would literally get 20-30 miles from home. They wouldn't have let me ride it any more. But luckily I never crashed or got lost.... My Dad owned a Water Ski Shop and Boat Rental company called Aloha Ski. So I was always on the lake in speed boats and watching my parents water ski. For some reason my mother would never let me water ski. She had had an accident that cut her leg up a bit and she was adamant that we kids never be allowed to ski. So to keep the peace. My Dad kept her rule to my complete displeasure. I remember hearing my first PUNK ROCK there. Pretty interesting stuff and a complete contrast from the Waylon Jennings and Merle Haggard my Dad and Mom listened too. You can probably tell why I was attracted to the PUNK ROCK.....LOL We moved to Tempe, Arizona in the mid 70's and all the fun ended at that point. We had literally moved to hell....haha But my love of music didn't stop. I listened to everything I could get my hands on in the 70's and 80's. It was a magical time for music. Some will curse it. But the experimentation was in full swing with the great advances in Amp and Speaker Technology. From Punk, Rock, Metal, R&B, New Wave and even Disco & Funk.... WOW.... those were the days. And I was a teenager right in the middle of it all....

Skip forward 25 years and I had a 13 year old son who was heavily into Punk Rock. haha.... As an old Punk Rock lover I was pleased with his Music Choices. But he had adopted some other habits that were less appealing to a parent. Bad Grades and friends who didn't have much respect for anything other than skipping school and cussing out their teachers. Things were spiraling out of control pretty quickly and I was either going to have to kill him or scramble to find a solution.... I decided that I would make him an offer. That I would take him to any punk show he wanted to see that was here in Colorado Springs or up in Denver if he would keep his grades above a C and he had to be in school no matter what the next day. No sleeping in class. No detention. No skipping school. Well.... amazingly it worked..... I'll tell you what. I have never listened to so much terrible music, as most of the time, we were going to see his buddies bands.... I was bored out of my mind. And so I decided to pick up a camera and start shooting the punk scene in Colorado Springs and Denver. I have done it for 15 years since that time. I have shot a lot of kids. I grew to love and care for all of them. I call them my kids. I have not shot a lot in the last several years because of health problems and being too old to stand in the middle of a raging pit and be able to walk the next day at work....LOL But I hope you enjoy my photos that I will post here on occasion of the kids I have grown to know and care for the last 15 years.

Enjoy.....

Good Friend, Punk, Artist and Model..... Natasha Lillipore

3939848483_46f39c4056_o.jpg

LINK to BING Search of Natasha Lillipore Images

https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=natasha+lillipore&qpvt=Natasha+Lillipore&qpvt=Natasha+Lillipore&qpvt=Natasha+Lillipore&FORM=IGRE

Gordy with the Bad Engrish

3796613801_2117af3a33_o.jpg

Links to the Bad Engrish Video's on Bing

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=the+bad+engrish&qpvt=The+Bad+Engrish&FORM=VDRE

The Potato Pirates at PUNK ROCK BOWLING in Denver

26924115153_94610a0aea_o.jpg

Links to Potato Pirate Video's on YouTube

Sort:  

Would he be consider a punk?

HAHA..... you know.... You would have to give him style points.....

Lake living is hard to beat, no doubt. As you get older, you'll find Merle and Waylon (RIP) are pretty damn cool too ;)

yeah believe it or not.... I became converted to Merle and Waylon in the mid late 80's as I became less a teenager and more open to Talent....haha... thanks for commenting....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63707.79
ETH 2610.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81