My Ancestry goes back to the Revolutionary War...

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

While I have written documentation from my Great Grandmother Flora Griffing Gunnison, from her application to the Daughters of the Revolutionary War. I don't have a photo of my GGGGreat Grandfather Stephen Griffing.
Here are is a drawing I did of my GGGGreat Grandmother Elizabeth Uhl Griffing who died in 1856 who I did have a photo of. I used The children and Grand childrens photos to get a mixture of facial features... to recreate an image to at least give an image of Stephen Griffing.
I am including hand written cropped images off my Great Grandmothers application of the DAW.
Here is the drawing I made.... Of Stephen and Elizabeth together...Steven...(1763-1841), Elizabeth (1763-1856)

My Drawing of Elizabeth and Stephen Griffing (2)_573333708_l.jpg

The photo of Elizabeth Uhl Griffing the year she died...

Elizabeth Uhl Griffing_Photo.jpg

Their son and his wife... Col. William Griffing who was said to weigh over 300 pounds when he died....William (1792-1867)

Col William Griffing & Wife_573333884_l.jpg

and Here is Myron and his wife Angeline Griffing... who was my Great Grandmothers daddy and momma....Myron (1832-1896)

Myron Griffing and Angeline_573333804_l.jpg

Then my Great Grandparents J. Hoyt Gunnison and Flora Griffing.

Jay H Gunnison and Flora Griffing_Photo.jpg

Here are some pages and clips from her application....

DAR2)_573334904_l.jpg_573334904_l.jpg)

![DAR4_573334804_l.jpg]

()

Thank you for looking....

Sort:  

Cool that u know all of this about your family. Also pretty impressive that you made the drawing from
a composite of children's pictures. That's something I've never heard of before.

Thank you !! I have always enjoyed challenges in creating artwork. Not only from some fairly difficult requests from some customers who wanted challenging portraits done, but challenges that I created for myself. To me, it was not enough to paint and draw to simply recreate an image on paper or canvas to represent a 3 dimensional thing or person. I wanted to make difficult challenges to conquer.

I like the pencil sketch and the fact you can trace your heritage back to Revolutionary war is great. I'm surprised you are not getting more upvotes for your work. I'll resteem this one.

well, in discussions with a few others, they made a great point.. it is the holidays and they are probably pre-occupied.

Wow thank you... =)

You're welcome, I think its great to resteem things that interest me. Without it, it makes posts harder to see. I'm fortunate I have a few followers that upvote and resteem most of my blogs. I ofcourse return the favor when I see something I enjoy of theirs.

well, check your wallet... I just sent you a steem
Thank you so much for just being a freind

Thanks I seen. I also made the comment on my other post lol. Playing post tag here. Nice to have you as a friend. Do you still paint or draw? Maybe you could post some of your more recent work on here I would like to check it out if you're able.

I need to start again... I got busy at my old job... and just lost interest from bad stuff happening and things got crazy. They have settled down in last couple of years so... You are right ... I need to do some.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82