This little lady lived on my bedside lamp shade for 3 weeks

in #photography7 years ago

So I looked after her, as any good host would, feeding her with insects I caught around the house. She laid her Ootheca (egg sack) on the lamp, before dying as is natures way. I left it on the lamp until the next year, when after moving house they hatched and spread out all around the lounge room, so I placed roses covered in aphids in vases and put as many of the little ones I could gather on them. Within a few weeks they'd all moved. Hopefully to a successful life in the vast outdoors.


fManty-12 (2).JPG


aManty-1.JPG


bManty-0 (2).JPG


cManty-4.JPG


dManty-6.JPG


eManty-9 (2).JPG


fManty-12 (2).JPG


gManty-14.JPG


Sort:  

I don't now if I could give to her food like you.

Love que pictures you took to the mantis will she was eating.

Thanks for share

No worries ;)

very nice of you to put take care of her.

She was lovely, we called her Manty

Wow! It's mantis?

Yes, praying mantis, one of the best insects IMO, so beautiful and perfectly designed for their predatory lifestyle.
They sit and wait in a praying pose, waiting for an insect, or even a humming bird if the mantis is big enough. They then strike from their prayer pose, lunging their forearms out at incridible speed and impale or grab their pray and pull them in. (there is an amazing video of this, look it up on Youtube, highly recommend it)

Here is a still from that video, borrowed from National Geographic (hope i am allowed to do that)

Stunning photos of this beautiful lady!

Thanks, I really love the yellow stripes on her face, this is the kind of detail that is hard to spot in real life, but when you take a great macro it is revealed :)

Hey wow! thanks for the Resteem, it's a first for me :)
Greatly appreciated!

Awww, that's nice of you to take care of the little one :)

Thank you for sharing this little heartwarming story with us.

my pleasure :)
I'll pop over and check your blog :)

Thank you gummybadger! Appreciate it. I am looking forward to see more of your stories :))

Sure, everyone loves the mantis but what about poor dragonfly!? lol

Jokes aside she was a beauty - stunning photos too!

Hahahaha yeah, it wasn't a dragonfly, it was just a little green thing :P Not exactly sure :)
But yes, poor dude, he had a good ending though! :P

Thanks!

Just checked out your blog, some really cool stuff over there! :)

Poor critter just got so hungry. Good that you gave it a nice meal.

always look out for the little things in life :)

Fascinating photos, Thank You!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Checked your blog and like what you are doing, particularly science, philosophy and history... all interests of mine :)
Followed :)

Welcome!

If you click on the GIF above, you can see my Topical Table of Contents. It's somewhat out of date, but I hope to revise it soon, and it will give you a better "overview" of the things I write about. ;)

That's epic! bravo on all the work you've put in!

Very nicely captured. An unusual perspective of a fascinating creature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65