A day to express care : Rakshabandhan

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170805_164220.jpg

Hello Everyone!
I have been busy these days so haven't shared about our one of the most important and most beautiful festival called Rakshabandhan. We celebrate this beautiful festival on the day of purnima (full moon) of August. So this time we celebrated this on 7th August. I have been busy with my studies and then I got that book so today I finished that book.. so here I am sharing about that festival... I clicked these picture on that day...
These bands in my pictures are called Rakhi so we call this festival of Rakhi too. On this day every Indian sister tie these beautiful Rakhi on their brother's wrist.. and every brother swear to protect their sister's Pride. And brothers also gift something to their sister. And we eat sweets on this day and special stuff are made on this festival like gujhiya, sev, kheer etc.
Well every year I gift my sister what my parents give me to gift her.. but this year I would like to thank steemit just because of what I gifted her from my own earnings. I am so grateful for that.. here are some pictures what my sister sent us via courier because she is working in some other city so could not come to home..

IMG_20170805_164233.jpg
These are the Rakhi my sister sent for me and my brother.

IMG_20170805_164154.jpg

IMG_20170805_164537.jpg

IMG_20170805_164543.jpg

IMG-20170805-WA0006.jpeg

IMG_20170807_095808.jpg
This Rakhi my niece tied on my wrist.

IMG_20170813_135222.jpg
And here are my Rakhi from my niece and my sister.

IMG_20170807_101345.jpg
And this is the first time I gifted her ₹501 Indian rupees from my own earnings.. so she can buy whatever she want to get from this.. haha..
I know this is what I can afford for her this time so may be next time I will gift her a good one..

So thanks to steemit and every single person who upvote for my every single post.. thankyou very much.
If you liked my this post please proceed an upvote for this one too..
Thankyou,
-- Gulshann Saini

Sort:  

This is a beautiful custom. I like that you are making commitments to take care of each other as siblings through-out your lives.
What happens when one of you marrys? Will you still exchange these gifts among you?

Yes even after marriage sister and brother go to their parents house and celebrate this beautiful festival together as family... This is celebrated in hindu people... And many people who migrated to some other country follow these festival and in case they cant meet then they send rakhi by courier services...

That's a beautiful tradition @gulshannsaini! Thanks for sharing it with all of us.
In Canada, we celebrate between family members by giving a gift to the person, on the day that they were born.

they probably give their spouses siblings bracelets lol i was gonna try for an arranged marriage or sister marrying brother joke, but i actually like idea of arranged marriage, cuz chances are ur parents friends will have kids that u will also relate too, so it wont be so bad! i bet arranging a marriage is good for ppl who dont want to date, and if u dont like the person ur parents arrange u can tell them and im sure theyll be able to choose someone u like OR convince you that the business relationship is worth it....maybe ur hypothetical indian dad will hook u up with the son of indias biggest bitcoin exchange...wouldnt that be fun?

No... Brothers don't marry their sister... Lol what are you saying....

There are huge pros and cons to every situation. If it's mutually consensual between all parties involved, then great! If it's not, then it is a form of oppression and I would suggest that it is a tradition that should evolve.

Hope to see your future posts. I followed you Do follow me @pvhittalamni
Hope you'll like this post:
https://steemit.com/food/@pvhittalamni/shakshuka-spell-it-ew-looks-like-someone-is-sneezing

How kind of you. Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87