something way cooler then my Mavic pro maybe...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

First I was enthusiastic about my DJI Mavic pro (And I still am offcourse), but a surf friend of mine has something way cooler now! I just thought you should see this guys!

It's a autonomous 'extreme sports' drone. Sounds cool isn't it? Well it is and it works awesome!
You got a controller and you can put this on your arm (it's waterproof), and go out with your board on the water. The tracking is foolproof. We tested it while windsurfing and you can see it in the movie it works pretty well.

the package contents

The Airdog has a built-in gimbal system that is compatible with the GoPro HERO 5 Black action camera and before. It has foldable arms just like the Mavic. You can see for yourself:

the gimbal system includes an adapter that charges the GoPro while it is connected. The Airdog is equipped with a start/stop recording function, as well, that is triggered upon take-off and landing.

You want to do solo sports and record yourself, and you're a drone beginner. The Airdog is really awesome. DJI is nowhere when you compare them. But if you have a friend who is really good with a drone, and shooting movies at the same time then the Mavic is way better. For example. (but maybe it is my unexperienced view on this). The Mavic loses track after 30/40 seconds. I think I'm doing things wrong but for this it doesn't matter. The Airdog just does it, tracking you and you alone. No friends controlling the drone just you.

Side by side

FunctionAirdogMavic
Weight2000g739g
Controlleryesyes
controlled by phonenoyes
controller waterproofyesno
battery lifetime15min25min
top speed70 km/h65 km/h
max distance150 m13 km
indoor modenoyes
removable camerayesno
camera includednoyes
max video resolution4k@30fps4k@30fps
obstacle avoidancenoyes
ground awerenessyesyes

Short conclusion just check the video from my surf friend filmed by his Airdog. Think I need to sell some other holidays so I can get my hands on this one. Do drones interfere each other? Think it is a good test for the next surfing session.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54